Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

205 ILCS 635/2-6

    (205 ILCS 635/2-6)
    Sec. 2-6. License issuance and renewal; fee.
    (a) Licenses shall be renewed every year using the common renewal date of the Nationwide Multistate Licensing System and Registry as adopted by the Director. Properly completed renewal application forms and filing fees may be received by the Secretary 60 days prior to the license expiration date, but, to be deemed timely, the completed renewal application forms and filing fees must be received by the Secretary no later than 30 days prior to the license expiration date.
    (b) It shall be the responsibility of each licensee to accomplish renewal of its license. Failure by a licensee to submit a properly completed renewal application form and fees in a timely fashion, absent a written extension from the Secretary, will result in the license becoming inactive.
    (c) No activity regulated by this Act shall be conducted by the licensee when a license becomes inactive. The Commissioner may require the licensee to provide a plan for the disposition of any residential mortgage loans not closed or funded when the license becomes inactive. The Commissioner may allow a licensee with an inactive license to conduct activities regulated by this Act for the sole purpose of assisting borrowers in the closing or funding of loans for which the loan application was taken from a borrower while the license was active. An inactive license may be reactivated by the Commissioner upon payment of the renewal fee, and payment of a reactivation fee equal to the renewal fee.
    (d) (Blank).
    (e) A licensee ceasing an activity or activities regulated by this Act and desiring to no longer be licensed shall so inform the Commissioner in writing and, at the same time, convey any license issued and all other symbols or indicia of licensure. The licensee shall include a plan for the withdrawal from regulated business, including a timetable for the disposition of the business, and comply with the surrender guidelines or requirements of the Director. Upon receipt of such written notice, the Commissioner shall post the cancellation or issue a certified statement canceling the license.
(Source: P.A. 99-15, eff. 1-1-16; 100-1153, eff. 12-19-18.)