Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

105 ILCS 426/30

    (105 ILCS 426/30)
    Sec. 30. Exemptions. For purposes of this Act, the following shall not be considered to be a private business and vocational school:
        (1) Any institution devoted entirely to the teaching
of religion or theology.
        (2) Any in-service program of study and subject
offered by an employer, provided that no tuition is charged and the instruction is offered only to employees of the employer.
        (3) Any educational institution that (A) enrolls a
majority of its students in degree programs and has maintained an accredited status with a regional accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or (B) enrolls students in one or more bachelor-level programs, enrolls a majority of its students in degree programs, and is accredited by a national or regional accrediting agency that is recognized by the U.S. Department of Education or that (i) is regulated by the Board under the Private College Act or the Academic Degree Act or is exempt from such regulation under either the Private College Act or the Academic Degree Act solely for the reason that the educational institution was in operation on the effective date of either the Private College Act or the Academic Degree Act or (ii) is regulated by the State Board of Education.
        (4) Any institution and the franchisees of that
institution that exclusively offer a program of study in income tax theory or return preparation at a total contract price of no more than $400, provided that the total annual enrollment of the institution for all such courses of instruction exceeds 500 students and further provided that the total contract price for all instruction offered to a student in any one calendar year does not exceed $3,000.
        (5) Any person or organization selling mediated
instruction products through a media, such as tapes, compact discs, digital video discs, or similar media, so long as the instruction is not intended to result in the acquisition of training for a specific employment field, is not intended to meet a qualification for licensure or certification in an employment field, or is not intended to provide credit that can be applied toward a certificate or degree program.
        (6) Schools with no physical presence in this State.
Schools offering instruction or programs of study, but that have no physical presence in this State, are not required to receive Board approval. Such an institution must not be considered not to have a physical presence in this State unless it has received a written finding from the Board that it has no physical presence. In determining whether an institution has no physical presence, the Board shall require all of the following:
            (A) Evidence of authorization to operate in at
least one other state and that the school is in good standing with that state's authorizing agency.
            (B) Evidence that the school has a means of
receiving and addressing student complaints in compliance with any federal or state requirements.
            (C) Evidence that the institution is providing no
instruction in this State.
            (D) Evidence that the institution is not
providing core academic support services, including, but not limited to, admissions, evaluation, assessment, registration, financial aid, academic scheduling, and faculty hiring and support in this State.
        (7) A school or program within a school that
exclusively provides yoga instruction, yoga teacher training, or both.
        (8) Organizations that receive funding from the
Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity for workforce development preparation programs as provided for in the Energy Transition Act and the Illinois Works Jobs Program Act in which participants are not charged tuition. This paragraph does not include public institutions of higher education or private institutions of higher education, as defined in the Board of Higher Education Act, or community colleges, as defined in the Public Community College Act. For purposes of this paragraph, the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity shall provide the Board of Higher Education a complete list of all qualifying organizations under this paragraph on July 1 of each year.
        (9) Labor organizations, as defined in Section 10 of
the Collective Bargaining Freedom Act, that sponsor a United States Department of Labor registered apprenticeship program.
(Source: P.A. 102-1046, eff. 6-7-22; 103-595, eff. 6-26-24.)