Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

105 ILCS 110/3.10

    (105 ILCS 110/3.10)
    Sec. 3.10. Policy on teen dating violence.
    (a) As used in this Section:
    "Dating" or "dating relationship" means an ongoing social relationship of a romantic or intimate nature between 2 persons. "Dating" or "dating relationship" does not include a casual relationship or ordinary fraternization between 2 persons in a business or social context.
    "Teen dating violence" means either of the following:
        (1) A pattern of behavior in which a person uses or
    
threatens to use physical, mental, or emotional abuse to control another person who is in a dating relationship with the person, where one or both persons are 13 to 19 years of age.
        (2) Behavior by which a person uses or threatens to
    
use sexual violence against another person who is in a dating relationship with the person, where one or both persons are 13 to 19 years of age.
    (b) The school board of each public school district in this State shall adopt a policy that does all of the following:
        (1) States that teen dating violence is unacceptable
    
and is prohibited and that each student has the right to a safe learning environment.
        (2) Incorporates age-appropriate education about teen
    
dating violence into new or existing training programs for students in grades 7 through 12 and school employees, as recommended by the school officials identified under subdivision (4) of this subsection (b).
        (3) Establishes procedures for the manner in which
    
employees of a school are to respond to incidents of teen dating violence that take place at the school, on school grounds, at school-sponsored activities, or in vehicles used for school-provided transportation.
        (4) Identifies by job title the school officials who
    
are responsible for receiving reports related to teen dating violence.
        (5) Notifies students and parents of the teen dating
    
violence policy adopted by the board.
(Source: P.A. 98-190, eff. 8-6-13.)