Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(65 ILCS 5/10-2.1-14)
(from Ch. 24, par. 10-2.1-14)
Register of eligibles.
The board of fire and police
commissioners shall prepare and keep a register of persons whose general
average standing, upon examination, is not less than the minimum fixed by the
rules of the board, and who are otherwise eligible. These persons shall take
rank upon the register as candidates in the order of their relative excellence
as determined by examination, without reference to priority of time of
The board of fire and police commissioners may prepare and keep a second register of persons who have previously been full-time sworn officers of a regular police department in any municipal, county, university, or State law enforcement agency, provided they are certified by the Illinois Law Enforcement Training Standards Board and have been with their respective law enforcement agency within the State for at least 2 years. The persons on this list shall take rank upon the register as candidates in the order of their relative excellence as determined by members of the board of fire and police commissioners. Applicants who have been awarded a certificate attesting to their successful
completion of the Minimum Standards Basic Law Enforcement Training Course, as
provided in the Illinois Police Training Act, may be given preference in
appointment over noncertified applicants. Applicants for appointment to fire departments who are licensed as an EMT, EMT-I, A-EMT, or paramedic under the Emergency Medical Services (EMS) Systems Act, may be given preference in appointment over non-licensed applicants.
Within 60 days after each examination, an eligibility list
shall be posted by the board, which shall show the final grades of
the candidates without reference to priority of time of examination
and subject to claim for military credit. Candidates who are
eligible for military credit shall make a claim in writing within 10 days after
the posting of the eligibility list or such claim shall be deemed waived.
Appointment shall be subject to a final physical examination.
If a person is placed on an eligibility list and becomes overage before he
or she is appointed to a police or fire department, the person remains eligible
for appointment until the list is abolished pursuant to authorized procedures.
Otherwise no person who has attained the age of 36 years shall be inducted as a
member of a police department and no person who has attained the age of 35
years shall be inducted as a member of a fire department, except as otherwise
provided in this division. With respect to a police department, a veteran shall be allowed to exceed the maximum age provision of this Section by the number of years served on active military duty, but by no more than 10 years of active military duty.
(Source: P.A. 98-973, eff. 8-15-14.)