Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

50 ILCS 705/8.1

    (50 ILCS 705/8.1) (from Ch. 85, par. 508.1)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 101-652)
    Sec. 8.1. Full-time police and county corrections officers.
    (a) After January 1, 1976, no person shall receive a permanent appointment as a law enforcement officer as defined in this Act nor shall any person receive, after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1984, a permanent appointment as a county corrections officer unless that person has been awarded, within 6 months of his or her initial full-time employment, a certificate attesting to his or her successful completion of the Minimum Standards Basic Law Enforcement and County Correctional Training Course as prescribed by the Board; or has been awarded a certificate attesting to his or her satisfactory completion of a training program of similar content and number of hours and which course has been found acceptable by the Board under the provisions of this Act; or by reason of extensive prior law enforcement or county corrections experience the basic training requirement is determined by the Board to be illogical and unreasonable.
    If such training is required and not completed within the applicable 6 months, then the officer must forfeit his or her position, or the employing agency must obtain a waiver from the Board extending the period for compliance. Such waiver shall be issued only for good and justifiable reasons, and in no case shall extend more than 90 days beyond the initial 6 months. Any hiring agency that fails to train a law enforcement officer within this period shall be prohibited from employing this individual in a law enforcement capacity for one year from the date training was to be completed. If an agency again fails to train the individual a second time, the agency shall be permanently barred from employing this individual in a law enforcement capacity.
    (b) No provision of this Section shall be construed to mean that a law enforcement officer employed by a local governmental agency at the time of the effective date of this amendatory Act, either as a probationary police officer or as a permanent police officer, shall require certification under the provisions of this Section. No provision of this Section shall be construed to mean that a county corrections officer employed by a local governmental agency at the time of the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1984, either as a probationary county corrections or as a permanent county corrections officer, shall require certification under the provisions of this Section. No provision of this Section shall be construed to apply to certification of elected county sheriffs.
    (c) This Section does not apply to part-time police officers or probationary part-time police officers.
(Source: P.A. 101-187, eff. 1-1-20.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 101-652)
    Sec. 8.1. Full-time law enforcement and county corrections officers.
    (a) No person shall receive a permanent appointment as a law enforcement officer or a permanent appointment as a county corrections officer unless that person has been awarded, within 6 months of the officer's initial full-time employment, a certificate attesting to the officer's successful completion of the Minimum Standards Basic Law Enforcement or County Correctional Training Course as prescribed by the Board; or has been awarded a certificate attesting to the officer's satisfactory completion of a training program of similar content and number of hours and which course has been found acceptable by the Board under the provisions of this Act; or a training waiver by reason of extensive prior law enforcement or county corrections experience the basic training requirement is determined by the Board to be illogical and unreasonable.
    If such training is required and not completed within the applicable 6 months, then the officer must forfeit the officer's position, or the employing agency must obtain a waiver from the Board extending the period for compliance. Such waiver shall be issued only for good and justifiable reasons, and in no case shall extend more than 90 days beyond the initial 6 months. Any hiring agency that fails to train a law enforcement officer within this period shall be prohibited from employing this individual in a law enforcement capacity for one year from the date training was to be completed. If an agency again fails to train the individual a second time, the agency shall be permanently barred from employing this individual in a law enforcement capacity.
    An individual who is not certified by the Board or whose certified status is inactive shall not function as a law enforcement officer, be assigned the duties of a law enforcement officer by an employing agency, or be authorized to carry firearms under the authority of the employer, except as otherwise authorized to carry a firearm under State or federal law. Sheriffs who are elected as of the effective date of this Amendatory Act of the 101st General Assembly, are exempt from the requirement of certified status. Failure to be certified in accordance with this Act shall cause the officer to forfeit the officer's position.
    An employing agency may not grant a person status as a law enforcement officer unless the person has been granted an active law enforcement officer certification by the Board.
    (b) Inactive status. A person who has an inactive law enforcement officer certification has no law enforcement authority.
        (1) A law enforcement officer's certification becomes
    
inactive upon termination, resignation, retirement, or separation from the officer's employing governmental agency for any reason. The Board shall re-activate a certification upon written application from the law enforcement officer's governmental agency that shows the law enforcement officer: (i) has accepted a full-time law enforcement position with that governmental agency, (ii) is not the subject of a decertification proceeding, and (iii) meets all other criteria for re-activation required by the Board. The Board may also establish special training requirements to be completed as a condition for re-activation.
        A law enforcement officer who is refused reactivation
    
under this Section may request a hearing in accordance with the hearing procedures as outlined in subsection (h) of Section 6.3 of this Act.
        The Board may refuse to re-activate the certification
    
of a law enforcement officer who was involuntarily terminated for good cause by his or her governmental agency for conduct subject to decertification under this Act or resigned or retired after receiving notice of a governmental agency's investigation.
        (2) A law enforcement officer who is currently
    
certified can place his or her certificate on inactive status by sending a written request to the Board. A law enforcement officer whose certificate has been placed on inactive status shall not function as a law enforcement officer until the officer has completed any requirements for reactivating the certificate as required by the Board. A request for inactive status in this subsection shall be in writing, accompanied by verifying documentation, and shall be submitted to the Board with a copy to the chief administrator of the law enforcement officer's governmental agency.
        (3) Certification that has become inactive under
    
paragraph (2) of this subsection (b), shall be reactivated by written notice from the law enforcement officer's agency upon a showing that the law enforcement officer is: (i) employed in a full-time law enforcement position with the same governmental agency (ii) not the subject of a decertification proceeding, and (iii) meets all other criteria for re-activation required by the Board.
        (4) Notwithstanding paragraph (3) of this subsection
    
(b), a law enforcement officer whose certification has become inactive under paragraph (2) may have the officer's governmental agency submit a request for a waiver of training requirements to the Board. A grant of a waiver is within the discretion of the Board. Within 7 days of receiving a request for a waiver under this section, the Board shall notify the law enforcement officer and the chief administrator of the law enforcement officer's governmental agency, whether the request has been granted, denied, or if the Board will take additional time for information. A law enforcement officer whose request for a waiver under this subsection is denied is entitled to appeal the denial to the Board within 20 days of the waiver being denied.
    (c) No provision of this Section shall be construed to mean that a county corrections officer employed by a governmental agency at the time of the effective date of this amendatory Act, either as a probationary county corrections or as a permanent county corrections officer, shall require certification under the provisions of this Section. No provision of this Section shall be construed to apply to certification of elected county sheriffs.
    (d) Within 14 days, a law enforcement officer shall report to the Board: (1) any name change; (2) any change in employment; or (3) the filing of any criminal indictment or charges against the officer alleging that the officer committed any offense as enumerated in Section 6.1 of this Act.
    (e) All law enforcement officers must report the completion of the training requirements required in this Act in compliance with Section 8.4 of this Act.
    (e-1) Each employing governmental agency shall allow and provide an opportunity for a law enforcement officer to complete the mandated requirements in this Act.
    (f) This Section does not apply to part-time law enforcement officers or probationary part-time law enforcement officers.
(Source: P.A. 101-187, eff. 1-1-20; 101-652, eff. 1-1-22.)