Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

40 ILCS 5/13-309

    (40 ILCS 5/13-309) (from Ch. 108 1/2, par. 13-309)
    Sec. 13-309. Duty disability benefit.
    (a) Any employee who becomes disabled, which disability is the result of an injury or illness compensable under the Illinois Workers' Compensation Act or the Illinois Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, is entitled to a duty disability benefit during the period of disability for which the employee does not receive any part of salary, or any part of a retirement annuity under this Article; except that in the case of an employee who first enters service on or after June 13, 1997 and becomes disabled before August 18, 2005 (the effective date of Public Act 94-621), a duty disability benefit is not payable for the first 3 days of disability that would otherwise be payable under this Section if the disability does not continue for at least 11 additional days. The changes made to this Section by Public Act 94-621 are prospective only and do not entitle an employee to a duty disability benefit for the first 3 days of any disability that occurred before that effective date and did not continue for at least 11 additional days. This benefit shall be 75% of salary at the date disability begins. However, if the disability in any measure resulted from any physical defect or disease which existed at the time such injury was sustained or such illness commenced, the duty disability benefit shall be 50% of salary.
    Unless the employer acknowledges that the disability is a result of injury or illness compensable under the Workers' Compensation Act or the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act, the duty disability benefit shall not be payable until the issue of compensability under those Acts is finally adjudicated. The period of disability shall be as determined by the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission or acknowledged by the employer.
    An employee in service before June 13, 1997 shall also receive a child's disability benefit during the period of disability of $10 per month for each unmarried natural or adopted child of the employee under 18 years of age.
    The first payment shall be made not later than one month after the benefit is granted, and subsequent payments shall be made at least monthly. The Board shall by rule prescribe for the payment of such benefits on the basis of the amount of salary lost during the period of disability.
    (b) The benefit shall be allowed only if all of the following requirements are met by the employee:
        (1) Application is made to the Board.
        (2) A medical report is submitted by at least one
licensed and practicing physician as part of the employee's application.
        (3) The employee is examined by at least one licensed
and practicing physician appointed by the Board and found to be in a disabled physical condition, and shall be re-examined at least annually thereafter during the continuance of disability. The employee need not be examined by a licensed and practicing physician appointed by the Board if the attorney for the district certifies in writing that the employee is entitled to receive compensation under the Workers' Compensation Act or the Workers' Occupational Diseases Act. The Board may require other evidence of disability.
    (c) The benefit shall terminate when:
        (1) The employee returns to work or receives a
retirement annuity paid wholly or in part under this Article;
        (2) The disability ceases;
        (3) The employee attains age 65, but if the employee
becomes disabled at age 60 or later, benefits may be extended for a period of no more than 5 years after disablement;
        (4) The employee (i) refuses to submit to reasonable
examinations by physicians or other health professionals appointed by the Board, (ii) fails or refuses to consent to and sign an authorization allowing the Board to receive copies of or to examine the employee's medical and hospital records, or (iii) fails or refuses to provide complete information regarding any other employment for compensation he or she has received since becoming disabled; or
        (5) The employee willfully and continuously refuses
to follow medical advice and treatment to enable the employee to return to work. However this provision does not apply to an employee who relies in good faith on treatment by prayer through spiritual means alone in accordance with the tenets and practice of a recognized church or religious denomination, by a duly accredited practitioner thereof.
    In the case of a duty disability recipient who returns to work, the employee must make application to the Retirement Board within 2 years from the date the employee last received duty disability benefits in order to become again entitled to duty disability benefits based on the injury for which a duty disability benefit was theretofore paid.
(Source: P.A. 95-586, eff. 8-31-07; 96-251, eff. 8-11-09.)