Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(35 ILCS 25/35)
Application for award of tax credit; tax credit certificate.
(a) On or after the conclusion of the 12-month period (or 6-month period, for purposes of subparagraph (A) of item (1) of subsection (a) of Section 25) after a new employee has been hired, an applicant shall file with the Department an application for award of a credit. The application shall include the following:
(1) The names, Social Security numbers, job
descriptions, salary or wage rates, and dates of hire of the new employees with respect to whom the credit is being requested, and an indication of whether each new employee listed participated as a worker-trainee in the Put Illinois to Work Program.
(2) A certification that each new employee listed has
been retained on the job for one year (or 6 months, for purposes of subparagraph (A) of item (1) of subsection (a) of Section 25) from the date of hire.
(3) The number of new employees hired by the
applicant during the incentive period.
(4) The net increase in the number of full-time
Illinois employees of the applicant (including the new employees listed in the request) between the beginning of the incentive period and the dates on which the new employees listed in the request were hired. This requirement does not apply for tax credits the applicant is seeking because the new employee had participated as a worker-trainee in the Put Illinois to Work Program.
(5) An agreement that the Director is authorized to
verify with the appropriate State agencies the information contained in the request before issuing a certificate to the applicant.
(6) Any other information the Department determines
(b) Although an application may be filed at any time after the conclusion of the 12-month period (or 6-month period, for purposes of subparagraph (A) of item (1) of subsection (a) of Section 25) after a new employee was hired, an application filed more than 90 days after the earliest date on which it could have been filed shall not be awarded any credit if, prior to the date it is filed, the Department has received applications under this Section for credits totaling more than $50,000,000.
(c) The Department shall issue a certificate to each applicant awarded a credit under this Act. The certificate shall include the following:
(1) The name and taxpayer identification number of
(2) The date on which the certificate is issued.
(3) The credit amount that will be allowed.
(4) Any other information the Department determines
(Source: P.A. 96-888, eff. 4-13-10; 96-1498, eff. 1-18-11.)