Illinois Compiled Statutes
Information maintained by the Legislative
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
20 ILCS 3960/10
(20 ILCS 3960/10)
(from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 1160)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2029)
Presenting information relevant to the approval of a permit or
certificate or in opposition to the denial of the application; notice of
outcome and review proceedings.
When a motion by the State Board, to approve
an application for
a permit, fails to pass,
the applicant or the holder
permit, as the case may be, and such other parties as the State Board permits,
will be given an opportunity to appear before the State Board and present
such information as may be relevant to the approval of a permit.
Subsequent to an appearance by the applicant before the State Board or
default of such opportunity to appear, a motion by the State Board to approve
an application for a permit which fails to pass
shall be considered denial of the application for a permit, as the case may be. Such action of denial or an
action by the State Board to revoke a permit
shall be communicated to the applicant or holder of the permit. Such person or organization shall be afforded an opportunity
for a hearing before an administrative law judge, who is appointed by the Chairman of the State Board. A written notice of a request for such hearing shall be
served upon the Chairman of the State Board within 30 days following
notification of the decision of the State Board. The administrative law judge shall take actions
necessary to ensure that the hearing is completed within a
reasonable period of time, but not to exceed 120 days, except for delays or
continuances agreed to by the
person requesting the hearing.
Following its consideration
of the report of the hearing, or upon default of the party to the hearing,
the State Board shall make its final determination, specifying its findings and
within 90 days of receiving the written report of the hearing.
A copy of such determination shall be sent by certified
mail or served personally upon the party.
A full and complete record shall be kept of all proceedings,
including the notice of hearing, complaint, and all other documents in
the nature of pleadings, written motions filed in the proceedings, and
the report and orders of the State Board or hearing officer. All
testimony shall be reported but need not be transcribed unless the
decision is appealed in accordance with the Administrative Review Law,
as now or hereafter amended. A copy or copies of the transcript may be
obtained by any interested party on payment of the cost of preparing
such copy or copies.
The State Board or hearing officer shall upon its own or his motion,
or on the written request of any party to the proceeding who has, in the
State Board's or hearing officer's opinion, demonstrated the relevancy
of such request to the outcome of the proceedings, issue subpoenas
requiring the attendance and the giving of testimony by witnesses, and
subpoenas duces tecum requiring the production of books, papers,
records, or memoranda. The fees of witnesses for attendance and travel
shall be the same as the fees of witnesses before the circuit court of
When the witness is subpoenaed at the instance of the State Board, or
its hearing officer, such fees shall be paid in the same manner as other
expenses of the Board, and when the witness is subpoenaed at the
instance of any other party to any such proceeding the State Board may,
in accordance with its rules, require that the cost of
service of the subpoena or subpoena duces tecum and the fee of the
witness be borne by the party at whose instance the witness is summoned.
In such case, the State Board in its discretion, may require a deposit
to cover the cost of such service and witness fees. A subpoena or
subpoena duces tecum so issued shall be served in the same manner as a
subpoena issued out of a court.
Any circuit court of this State upon the application of the State
Board or upon the application of any other party to the proceeding, may,
in its discretion, compel the attendance of witnesses, the production of
books, papers, records, or memoranda and the giving of testimony before
it or its hearing officer conducting an investigation or holding a
hearing authorized by this Act, by an attachment for contempt, or
otherwise, in the same manner as production of evidence may be compelled
before the court.
(Source: P.A. 99-527, eff. 1-1-17; 100-681, eff. 8-3-18