Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Illinois Compiled Statutes

 ILCS Listing   Public Acts  Search   Guide   Disclaimer

Information maintained by the Legislative Reference Bureau
Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process. Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public Acts soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the Guide.

Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes, statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect. If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes made to the current law.

20 ILCS 1605/15

    (20 ILCS 1605/15) (from Ch. 120, par. 1165)
    Sec. 15. No minor under 18 years of age shall buy a lottery ticket or share. No person shall sell, distribute samples of, or furnish a lottery ticket or share to any minor under 18 years of age, buy a lottery ticket or share for any minor under 18 years of age, or aid and abet in the purchase of lottery tickets or shares by a minor under 18 years of age.
    No ticket or share shall be purchased by, and no prize shall be paid to any of the following persons: any member of the Board or any officer or other person employed by the Board or by the Department; any spouse, child, brother, sister or parent residing as a member of the same household in the principal place of abode of any such persons; or any minor under 18 years of age.
    Any violation of this Section by a person other than the purchasing minor shall be a Class B misdemeanor; provided, that if any violation of this Section is a subsequent violation, the offender shall be guilty of a Class 4 felony. Notwithstanding any provision to the contrary, a violation of this Section by a minor under 18 years of age shall be a petty offense.
(Source: P.A. 90-346, eff. 8-8-97.)