Updating the database of the Illinois Compiled Statutes (ILCS) is an ongoing process.
Recent laws may not yet be included in the ILCS database, but they are found on this site as Public
soon after they become law. For information concerning the relationship between statutes and Public Acts, refer to the
Because the statute database is maintained primarily for legislative drafting purposes,
statutory changes are sometimes included in the statute database before they take effect.
If the source note at the end of a Section of the statutes includes a Public Act that has
not yet taken effect, the version of the law that is currently in effect may have already
been removed from the database and you should refer to that Public Act to see the changes
made to the current law.
(5 ILCS 312/2-106)
(from Ch. 102, par. 202-106)
Appointment recorded by county clerk.
The appointment of the applicant as a notary public is complete when the
commission is recorded with the county clerk.
The Secretary of State shall forward the applicant's commission to the
county clerk of the county in which the applicant resides
or, if the applicant is a resident of a state bordering Illinois, the county
in Illinois in which the applicant's principal place of work or principal place
of business is located.
thereof, the county clerk shall notify the applicant of the action taken by
the Secretary of State, and the applicant shall either appear at the
county clerk's office to record the same and receive the commission or
request by mail to have the commission sent to the applicant with a
specimen signature of the applicant attached to the request. The applicant
shall have a record of the appointment, and the time when the commission
will expire, entered in the records of the office of the county clerk. When
the applicant appears before the county clerk, the applicant shall pay a
fee of $5, at which time the county clerk shall then deliver the commission
to the applicant.
If the appointment is completed by mail, the applicant shall pay the
county clerk a fee of $10.00, which shall be submitted with the request to
the county clerk. The county clerk shall then record the appointment and
send the commission by mail to the applicant.
If an applicant does not respond to the notification by the county
clerk within 30 days, the county clerk shall again notify the applicant
that the county clerk has received the applicant's notary public commission
issued by the Secretary of State. The second notice shall be in
substantially the following form:
"The records of this office indicate that you have not
picked up your notary public commission from the Office of the County Clerk.
The Illinois Notary Public Law requires you to appear in
person in the clerk's office, record your commission, and pay a fee of $5.00 to the county clerk or request that your commission be mailed to you. This request must be accompanied by a specimen of your signature and a $10.00 fee payable to the county clerk.
Your appointment as a notary is not complete until the
commission is recorded with the county clerk. Furthermore, if you do not make arrangements with the clerk for recording and delivery of your commission within 30 days from the date of this letter, the county clerk will return your commission to the Secretary of State. Your commission will be cancelled and your name will be removed from the list of notaries in the State of Illinois.
I should also like to remind you that any person who
attests to any document as a notary and is not a notary in good standing with the Office of the Secretary of State is guilty of official misconduct and may be subject to a fine or imprisonment.".
The Secretary of State shall cancel the appointment of all notaries
whose commissions are returned to his office by the county clerks. No
application fee will be refunded and no bonding company is required to
issue a refund when an appointment is cancelled.
(Source: P.A. 100-201, eff. 8-18-17.)