(820 ILCS 305/4a-3) (from Ch. 48, par. 138.4a-3)
    Sec. 4a-3. (a) The Board shall consist of the Chairman of the Illinois Workers' Compensation Commission, as Chairman of the Board, and six other members appointed by the Chairman who shall be expert in matters of self-insurance for workers' compensation liability. One such member shall represent the general public. The Trustees shall initially be appointed by the Chairman within 30 days of the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1985. Three of the Trustees initially appointed by the Chairman shall serve for a two-year term ending January 1, 1988, and three shall serve for a four-year term ending January 1, 1990. Thereafter, each Trustee shall be appointed to a four-year term and shall continue to serve until his successor is appointed.
    (b) A vacancy in the office of any appointed member shall occur upon his resignation, death, or conviction of a felony. The Chairman may remove any member from office on a formal finding of incompetence, neglect of duty or malfeasance in office. Within 30 days after the office of any appointed member becomes vacant for any reason, the Chairman shall fill that vacancy for the unexpired term in the same manner as that in which appointments are made.
(Source: P.A. 93-721, eff. 1-1-05.)