(725 ILCS 203/20)
Reports by law enforcement officers.
(a) A law enforcement officer shall complete a written police report upon receiving the following, regardless of where the incident occurred:
(1) an allegation by a person that the person has
been sexually assaulted or sexually abused regardless of jurisdiction;
(2) information from hospital or medical personnel
provided under Section 3.2 of the Criminal Identification Act; or
(3) information from a witness who personally
observed what appeared to be a sexual assault or sexual abuse or attempted sexual assault or sexual abuse.
(b) The written report shall include the following, if known:
(1) the victim's name or other identifier;
(2) the victim's contact information;
(3) time, date, and location of offense;
(4) information provided by the victim;
(5) the suspect's description and name, if known;
(6) names of persons with information relevant to the
time before, during, or after the sexual assault or sexual abuse, and their contact information;
(7) names of medical professionals who provided a
medical forensic examination of the victim and any information they provided about the sexual assault or sexual abuse;
(8) whether an Illinois State Police Sexual Assault
Evidence Collection Kit was completed, the name and contact information for the hospital, and whether the victim consented to testing of the Evidence Collection Kit by law enforcement;
(9) whether a urine or blood sample was collected and
whether the victim consented to testing of a toxicology screen by law enforcement;
(10) information the victim related to medical
professionals during a medical forensic examination which the victim consented to disclosure to law enforcement; and
(11) other relevant information.
(c) If the sexual assault or sexual abuse occurred in another jurisdiction, the law enforcement officer taking the report must submit the report to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction in person or via fax or email within 24 hours of receiving information about the sexual assault or sexual abuse.
(d) Within 24 hours of receiving a report from a law enforcement agency in another jurisdiction in accordance with subsection (c), the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction shall submit a written confirmation to the law enforcement agency that wrote the report. The written confirmation shall contain the name and identifier of the person and confirming receipt of the report and a name and contact phone number that will be given to the victim. The written confirmation shall be delivered in person or via fax or email.
(e) No law enforcement officer shall require a victim of sexual assault or sexual abuse to submit to an interview.
(f) No law enforcement agency may refuse to complete a written report as required by this Section on any ground.
(g) All law enforcement agencies shall ensure that all officers responding to or investigating a complaint of sexual assault or sexual abuse have successfully completed training under Section 10.21 of the Illinois Police Training Act and Section 2605-51 of the Illinois State Police Law of the Civil Administrative Code of Illinois.
(Source: P.A. 102-538, eff. 8-20-21.)