(510 ILCS 68/10-20)
    Sec. 10-20. Approved venomous reptiles. Permittees may keep legally obtained venomous reptile specimens native to the United States, except the following species: Eastern diamondback rattlesnakes (Crotalus adamanteus); Western diamondback rattlesnakes (Crotalus atrox); Mojave rattlesnakes (Crotalus scutulatus); Southern Pacific rattlesnakes (Crotalus oreganus helleri); Eastern and Texas coral snakes (Micrurus fulvius); Sonoran coral snakes (Micruroides euryxanthus); and timber/canebrake rattlesnakes (Crotalus horridus) from the southern portions of their range (Oklahoma, southern Arkansas, Louisiana, and also southeastern South Carolina south through eastern Georgia to northern Florida), known as "Type A" and containing canebrake toxin.
    Except for Boomslangs (Dispholidus), twig snakes (Thelotornis), keelbacks (Rhabdophis), Lichtenstein's green racer (Philodryas olfersii), and brown tree snake (Boiga irregularis), medically significant snakes in the family Colubridae defined in Section 10-5 of this Article may be possessed with a permit.
(Source: P.A. 98-752, eff. 1-1-15.)