(415 ILCS 170/15)
(a) On and after 30 days after the effective date of this Act, a manufacturer of Class B firefighting foam that is regulated under this Act must notify, in writing, a person that sells the manufacturer's Class B firefighting foam in this State of the provisions of this Act.
(b) Beginning on January 1, 2022, any person, unit of local government, fire department, or State agency that discharges or releases Class B firefighting foam that contains intentionally added PFAS chemicals must notify the Illinois Emergency Management Agency within 48 hours of the discharge or release. The notification must include:
(1) the time, date, location, and estimated amount of
Class B firefighting foam discharged or released into the environment;
(2) the purpose or reason of the discharge or release
(3) the containment, treatment, and disposal measures
to be taken or used to prevent or minimize the discharge or release of the Class B firefighting foam into the environment; and
(4) the name of the person, unit of local government,
fire department, or State agency, the local incident number, and the Fire Department Identification (FDID) number, if applicable.
(c) The Illinois Emergency Management Agency shall, no less than annually, report any notifications specified in subsection (b) to the Office of the State Fire Marshal.
(Source: P.A. 102-290, eff. 8-6-21.)