(415 ILCS 5/52.10)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on December 31, 2022)
    Sec. 52.10. Electric Vehicle Permitting Task Force.
    (a) The Electric Vehicle Permitting Task Force is hereby created within the Environmental Protection Agency.
    (b) The Task Force shall consist of the following members, which shall represent the diversity of the people of Illinois:
        (1) The Director of the Environmental Protection
Agency or his or her designee;
        (2) The Director of Natural Resources or his or her
        (3) The Secretary of Transportation or their designee;
        (4) Twelve members appointed by the Governor as
            (A) one member of a statewide organization
representing manufacturers;
            (B) one member of a statewide organization
representing business interests;
            (C) one member representing an environmental
justice organization;
            (D) one member representing a statewide
environmental advocacy organization;
            (E) one member representing the electric vehicle
            (F) one member representing the waste management
            (G) one member of a statewide organization
representing agricultural interests;
            (H) one member representing a labor organization;
            (I) one member representing a statewide
organization of municipalities as authorized under Section 1-8-1 of the Illinois Municipal Code;
            (J) one member from an association representing
automobile manufacturers;
            (K) one member of a labor organization that
represents workers in the auto industry; and
            (L) one member representing the component parts
manufacturing community.
    (c) The duties and responsibilities of the Task Force include the following:
        (1) identify existing and potential challenges faced
by the electric vehicle industry with respect to the process for obtaining necessary permits from the Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Transportation, and potential solutions;
        (2) conduct an assessment of State permitting fees,
including those necessary for electric vehicle investment in Illinois, and the revenue generated by those fees;
        (3) assess the permitting needs of the electric
vehicle industry, including electric vehicle manufacturers, electric vehicle power supply equipment manufacturers, and electric vehicle component parts manufacturers;
        (4) recommend changes to expedite permitting
processes to support the rapid growth of the electric vehicle industry in Illinois, including support for electric vehicle businesses locating or relocating in Illinois;
        (5) analyze anticipated staffing needs across State
agencies to support expedited permitting efforts;
        (6) recommend adjustments to the fee structure for
state permits, including those permits necessary for electric vehicle investment in Illinois, that will support increased staffing at state agencies;
        (7) Consider the impact of State and local permitting
issues on electric vehicle charging station deployments, and make recommendations on best practices to streamline permitting related to electric vehicle charging stations; and
        (8) recommend legislative and regulatory actions that
are necessary to support changes to permitting processes.
    (d) The Task Force shall not consider or recommend changes to environmental permitting standards outside of the scope of the duties and responsibilities outlined in subsection (c).
    (e) Appointments for the Task Force shall be made no later than December 15, 2021. The Task Force shall issue a final report based upon its findings and recommendations and submit the report to the Governor and the General Assembly no later than August 1, 2022.
    (f) Members of the Task Force shall serve without compensation. The Environmental Protection Agency shall provide administrative support to the Task Force.
    (g) The Task Force shall be dissolved upon the filing of its report.
    (h) This Section is repealed on December 31, 2022.
(Source: P.A. 102-669, eff. 11-16-21; 102-996, eff. 5-27-22.)