(410 ILCS 405/3) (from Ch. 111 1/2, par. 6953)
    Sec. 3. Definitions. As used in this Act:
    (a) "Alzheimer's disease" or "Alzheimer's" or "AD" means the most common form of dementia that causes problems with memory, thinking, and behavior. Symptoms usually develop slowly and get worse over time, becoming severe enough to interfere with daily tasks. Symptoms include a decline in memory and the loss of function in at least one other cognitive ability, such as the ability to generate coherent speech or understand written or spoken language; the ability to recognize or identify objects; the ability to execute motor activities; or the ability to think abstractly.
    (a-5) "Dementia" means cognitive decline, including a loss of memory and other mental abilities severe enough to interfere with daily life.
    (a-10) "Related disorders" or "related dementias" means any other form of dementia that is not caused by Alzheimer's disease.
    (a-15) "Dementia-capable State" means that the State of Illinois and its long-term care services, community-based services, and dementia support systems have:
        (1) the ability to identify people with dementia and
their caregivers;
        (2) information, referral, and service coordination
systems that provide person-centered services to people with dementia and their caregivers;
        (3) eligibility criteria for public programs that are
equitable for people with dementia;
        (4) coverage of services that people with dementia
and their caregivers are likely to use;
        (5) a professional caregiving workforce that knows
about Alzheimer's disease and other dementias and how to serve that population and their caregivers; and
        (6) quality assurance systems that take into account
the unique needs of people with dementia and their caregivers.
    (b) "Regional Alzheimer's Disease Assistance Center" or "Regional ADA Center" means any postsecondary higher educational institution having a medical school in affiliation with a medical center and having a National Institutes of Health and National Institutes on Aging sponsored Alzheimer's Disease Core Center. Any Regional ADA Center which was designated as having a National Alzheimer's Disease Core Center but no longer carries such designation shall continue to serve as a Regional ADA Center.
    (c) "Primary Alzheimer's provider" means a licensed hospital, a medical center under the supervision of a physician licensed to practice medicine in all of its branches, or a medical center that provides medical consultation, evaluation, referral and treatment to persons who may be or who have been diagnosed as individuals with Alzheimer's disease or related disorders pursuant to policies, standards, criteria and procedures adopted under an affiliation agreement with a Regional ADA Center under this Act.
    (d) "Alzheimer's disease assistance network" or "ADA network" means the various health, mental health and social services agencies that provide referral, treatment and support services under standards and plans adopted and implemented in conjunction with a Regional ADA Center.
    (e) "ADA Advisory Committee" or "Advisory Committee" or "Committee" means the Alzheimer's Disease Advisory Committee created under Section 6 of this Act.
    (f) "Department" means the Illinois Department of Public Health.
(Source: P.A. 97-768, eff. 1-1-13.)