(305 ILCS 5/5-30.14)
    Sec. 5-30.14. Medicaid managed care organizations; preferred drug lists.
    (a) No later than January 1, 2020, the Illinois Department shall develop a standardized format for all Medicaid managed care organization preferred drug lists in collaboration with Medicaid managed care organizations and other stakeholders, including, but not limited to, organizations that serve individuals impacted by HIV/AIDS or epilepsy, and community-based organizations, providers, and entities with expertise in drug formulary development.
    (b) Following development of the standardized Preferred Drug List format, the Illinois Department shall allow Medicaid managed care organizations 6 months from the date of completion to comply with the new Preferred Drug List format. Each Medicaid managed care organization must post its preferred drug list on its website without restricting access and must update the preferred drug list posted on its website. Medicaid managed care organizations shall publish updates to their preferred drug lists no less than 30 days prior to the date upon which any update or change takes effect, including, but not limited to, any and all changes to requirements for prior approval requirements, step therapy, or other utilization controls.
    (c)(1) No later than January 1, 2020, the Illinois Department shall establish and maintain the Illinois Drug and Therapeutics Advisory Board. The Board shall have the authority and responsibility to provide recommendations to the Illinois Department regarding which drug products to list on the Illinois Department's preferred drug list. The Illinois Department shall provide administrative support to the Board and the Board shall:
        (A) convene and meet no less than once per calendar
        (B) provide regular opportunities for public comment;
        (C) comply with the provisions of the Open Meetings
    All correspondence related to the Board, including correspondence to and from Board members, shall be subject to the Freedom of Information Act.
    (2) The Board shall consist of the following voting members, all of whom shall be appointed by the Governor and shall serve terms of 3 years without compensation:
        (A) one pharmacist licensed to practice pharmacy in
Illinois who is recommended by a statewide organization representing pharmacists;
        (B) 4 physicians, recommended by a statewide
organization representing physicians, who are licensed to practice medicine in all its branches in Illinois, have knowledge of and adhere to best practice standards, and have experience treating Illinois Medicaid beneficiaries;
        (C) at least one clinician who specializes in the
prevention and treatment of HIV, recommended by an HIV healthcare advocacy organization;
        (D) at least one clinician recommended by a
healthcare advocacy organization that serves individuals who are affected by chronic diseases that require significant pharmaceutical treatments;
        (E) one clinician representing the Illinois
Department; and
        (F) one licensed psychiatrist, recommended by a
statewide organization representing psychiatrists, who has experience treating Illinois Medicaid beneficiaries.
    One non-voting clinician recommended by an association of Medicaid managed care health plans shall serve a term of 3 years on the Board without compensation.
    Organizations interested in nominating non-voting clinicians to advise the Board may submit requests to participate to the Illinois Department.
    A licensed physician recommended by the Rare Disease Commission who is a rare disease specialist and possesses scientific knowledge and medical training with respect to rare diseases and is familiar with drug and biological products and treatment shall be notified in advance to attend an Illinois Drug and Therapeutics Advisory Board meeting when a drug or biological product is scheduled to be reviewed in order to advise and make recommendations on drugs or biological products.
    (d) The Illinois Department shall adopt rules, to be in place no later than January 1, 2020, for the purpose of establishing and maintaining the Board.
(Source: P.A. 101-62, eff. 7-12-19; 102-558, eff. 8-20-21.)