(225 ILCS 447/30-15)
(Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2024)
Qualifications for licensure as a locksmith
(a) Upon receipt of the required fee and proof that the
applicant has a full-time Illinois licensed locksmith licensee-in-charge, which is a
continuing requirement for agency licensure, the Department
shall issue a license as a locksmith
agency to any of the following:
(1) An individual who submits an application and is a
licensed locksmith under this Act.
(2) A firm that submits an application and all of the
members of the firm are licensed locksmiths under this Act.
(3) A corporation or limited liability company doing
business in Illinois that is authorized to engage in the business of conducting a locksmith agency if at least one officer or executive employee is a licensed locksmith under this Act and all unlicensed officers and directors of the corporation or limited liability company are determined by the Department to be persons of good moral character.
(b) An individual licensed as a locksmith operating
under a business name other
than the licensed locksmith's own name shall not be required
to obtain a locksmith agency license if that licensed
locksmith does not employ any persons to engage in the
practice of locksmithing and registers under the Assumed Business Name Act.
(c) No locksmith may be the licensee in-charge for more than one
locksmith agency. Upon written
request by a representative of the agency, within 10 days
after the loss of a licensee-in-charge of an agency because
of the death of that individual or because of the termination
of the employment of that individual, the Department shall
issue a temporary certificate of authority allowing the
continuing operation of the licensed agency. No temporary
certificate of authority shall be valid for more than 90 days.
An extension of an additional 90 days may be granted upon
written request by the representative of the agency. Not more
than 2 extensions may be granted to any agency. No temporary
permit shall be issued for loss of the licensee-in-charge because of
disciplinary action by
the Department related to his or her conduct on behalf of the
(c-1) Upon issuance of the temporary certificate of authority as provided for in subsection (c) of this Section and at any time thereafter while the temporary certificate of authority is in effect, the Department may request in writing additional information from the agency regarding the loss of its licensee-in-charge, the selection of a new licensee-in-charge, and the management of the agency. Failure of the agency to respond to the satisfaction of the Department shall cause the Department to deny any extension of the temporary certificate of authority. While the temporary
certificate of authority is in effect, the Department may
disapprove the selection of a new licensee-in-charge by the
agency if the person's license is not operative or the
Department has good cause to believe that the person selected
will not fully exercise the responsibilities of a licensee-in-charge.
If the Department has disapproved the selection of a
new licensee-in-charge and the temporary certificate of
authority expires or is about to expire without the agency
selecting another new licensee-in-charge, the Department shall grant an extension of the temporary certificate of authority for an additional 90 days, except as otherwise prohibited in subsection (c) or this subsection (c-1).
(d) The Department shall require without limitation all of the following information from each applicant for licensure as a locksmith agency under this Act:
(1) The name, full business address, and telephone
number of the locksmith agency. The business address for the locksmith agency shall be a complete street address from which business is actually conducted, shall be located within the State, and may not be a P.O. Box. The applicant shall submit proof that the business location is or will be used to conduct the locksmith agency's business. The Department may approve of an out-of-state business location if it is not over 50 miles in distance from the borders of this State.
(2) All trade or business names used by the licensee.
(3) The type of ownership or operation, such as a
partnership, corporation, or sole proprietorship.
(4) The name of the owner or operator of the
locksmith agency, including:
(A) if a person, then the name and address of
(B) if a partnership, then the name and address
of record of each partner and the name of the partnership;
(C) if a corporation, then the name, address of
record, and title of each corporate officer and director, the corporate names, and the name of the state of incorporation; and
(D) if a sole proprietorship, then the full name
and address of record of the sole proprietor and the name of the business entity.
(5) The name and license number of the
licensee-in-charge for the locksmith agency.
(6) Any additional information required by the
(e) A licensed locksmith agency may operate under a "doing business as" or assumed name certification without having to obtain a separate locksmith agency license if the "doing business as" or assumed name is first registered with the Department. A licensed locksmith agency may register no more than one assumed name.
(Source: P.A. 98-253, eff. 8-9-13.)