(225 ILCS 120/110) (from Ch. 111, par. 8301-110)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 102-879)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 110. Hearing officers; appointment. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, the Director shall have the authority to appoint any attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action before the Board for refusal to issue or renew a license, or the discipline of a licensee. The Director shall notify the Board of any such appointment. The hearing officer shall have full authority to conduct the hearing. There shall be present at least one member of the Board at any such hearing. The hearing officer shall report his findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Board and the Director. The Board shall have 60 days from receipt of the report to review the report of the hearing officer and present its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Director. If the Board fails to present its report within the 60 day period, the Director may issue an order based on report of the hearing officer. However, if the Board does present its report within the specified 60 days, the Director's order shall be based upon the report of the Board.
(Source: P.A. 87-594.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 102-879)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2028)
    Sec. 110. Hearing officers; appointment. Notwithstanding any other provision of this Act, the Secretary shall have the authority to appoint any attorney duly licensed to practice law in the State of Illinois to serve as the hearing officer in any action before the Board for refusal to issue or renew a license, or the discipline of a licensee. The hearing officer shall report his findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Board and the Secretary. The Board shall have 60 days from receipt of the report to review the report of the hearing officer and present its findings of fact, conclusions of law, and recommendations to the Secretary. If the Board fails to present its report within the 60 day period, the Secretary may issue an order based on report of the hearing officer and the record of the proceedings or issue an order remanding the matter back to the hearing officer for additional proceedings in accordance with the order. If the Secretary disagrees with the recommendation of the Board or the hearing officer, the Secretary may issue an order in contravention of the recommendation.
(Source: P.A. 102-879, eff. 1-1-23.)