(225 ILCS 64/45)
    (This Section may contain text from a Public Act with a delayed effective date)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2027)
    Sec. 45. Licensure.
    (a) Each applicant who successfully meets the requirements of this Section is eligible for licensure as a certified professional midwife if the applicant:
        (1) submits forms prescribed by the Department and
accompanied by the required nonrefundable fee;
        (2) is at least 21 years of age;
        (3) has successfully completed a licensure
examination approved by the Department;
        (4) holds valid certified professional midwife
certification granted by NARM or its successor organization;
        (5) holds an active cardiopulmonary resuscitation
        (6) holds an active neonatal resuscitation provider
status; and
        (7) successfully completed a postsecondary midwifery
education program through an institution, program, or pathway accredited by the Midwife Education and Accreditation Council, that has both academic and clinical practice incorporated throughout the curriculum.
    (b) A midwife who is certified by NARM, but who has not completed a MEAC program, may apply for licensure if he or she:
        (1) holds a valid certified professional midwife
certification granted by NARM or its successor organization for at least 3 years;
        (2) provides proof of completion of the midwifery
bridge certificate granted by NARM and applies within one year of adoption of rules; and
        (3) provides proof of paragraphs (1) through (6)
required under subsection (a).
    (c) Applicants have 3 years from the date of application to complete the application process. If the process has not been completed in 3 years, the application shall be denied, the fee shall be forfeited, and the applicant must reapply and meet the requirements in effect at the time of reapplication.
(Source: P.A. 102-683, eff. 10-1-22.)