(225 ILCS 50/16) (from Ch. 111, par. 7416)
    (Section scheduled to be repealed on January 1, 2026)
    Sec. 16. Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Board. There shall be established a Hearing Instrument Consumer Protection Board which shall assist, advise and make recommendations to the Department.
    The Board shall consist of 7 members who shall be residents of Illinois. One shall be a licensed physician who specializes in otology or otolaryngology; one shall be a member of a consumer-oriented organization concerned with the deaf or hard of hearing; one shall be from the general public, preferably a senior citizen; 2 shall be licensed hearing instrument dispensers who are National Board Certified Hearing Instrument Specialists; and 2 shall be a licensed audiologist. If a vote of the Board results in a tie, the Director shall cast the deciding vote.
    Members of the Board shall be appointed by the Director after consultation with appropriate professional organizations and consumer groups. As soon as practical after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 103rd General Assembly, the Director shall appoint the members of the Board. The term of office of each shall be 4 years. Before a member's term expires, the Director shall appoint a successor to assume member's duties at the expiration of his or her predecessor's term. A vacancy shall be filled by appointment for the unexpired term. The members shall annually designate one member as chairman. No member of the Board who has served 2 successive, full terms may be reappointed. The Director may remove members for good cause.
    Members of the Board shall receive reimbursement for actual and necessary travel and for other expenses, not to exceed the limit established by the Department.
(Source: P.A. 103-495, eff. 1-1-24.)