(205 ILCS 610/1) (from Ch. 17, par. 1001)
    Sec. 1. Definitions. As used in this Act, unless the context otherwise requires:
    (1) "Commissioner" means the officer of this State designated by law to exercise supervision over banks and trust companies, and any other person lawfully exercising such powers, except that beginning on the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 96th General Assembly, all references in this Act to the Commissioner of Banks and Real Estate are deemed, in appropriate contexts, to be references to the Secretary of Financial and Professional Regulation.
    (2) "Bank" includes commercial banks, savings banks, savings and loan associations, trust companies, and any branch thereof lawfully carrying on the business of banking and, to the extent that the provisions hereof are not inconsistent with and do not infringe upon paramount Federal law, also includes national banks and federal savings banks.
    (3) "Officers" means the person or persons designated by the board of directors, to act for the bank in carrying out the provisions of this Act or, in the absence of any such designation or of the officer or officers so designated, the president or any other officer currently in charge of the bank or of the office or offices in question.
    (4) "Office" means any place at which a bank transacts its business or conducts operations related to its business.
    (5) "Emergency" means any condition or occurrence which may interfere physically with the conduct of normal business operations at one or more or all of the offices of a bank, or which poses an imminent or existing threat to the safety or security of persons or property, or both at one or more or all of the offices of a bank. Without limiting the generality of the foregoing, an emergency may arise as a result of any one or more of the following: natural disasters; civil strife; power failures; computer failures; interruption of communication facilities; robbery or attempted robbery.
    (6) "Division" means the Division of Banking within the Department of Financial and Professional Regulation.
(Source: P.A. 96-1365, eff. 7-28-10.)