(110 ILCS 70/36e) (from Ch. 24 1/2, par. 38b4)
    Sec. 36e. Coverage. All employees of the Illinois Community College Board, Southern Illinois University, Chicago State University, Eastern Illinois University, Governors State University, Illinois State University, Northeastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois University, Western Illinois University, the University of Illinois, the University System, the State Universities Retirement System, the State Scholarship Commission, and the Board of Higher Education shall be covered by the University System described in Sections 36b to 36q, inclusive, of this Act, except the following persons:
        (1) The members and officers of the Merit Board and
the board of trustees, and the commissioners of the institutions and agencies covered hereunder;
        (2) The presidents and vice-presidents of each
educational institution;
        (3) Other principal administrative employees of each
institution and agency as determined by the Merit Board;
        (4) The teaching, research and extension faculties of
each institution and agency;
        (5) Students employed under rules prescribed by the
Merit Board, without examination or certification.
(Source: P.A. 100-615, eff. 1-1-19.)