(105 ILCS 5/12-10) (from Ch. 122, par. 12-10)
    Sec. 12-10. Territory constituting - Board of education. All the territory of each county not included in a district maintaining a recognized four year high school is a non-high school district for the purpose of levying a tax to pay the tuition of all eighth grade graduates residing therein, including pupils attending a recognized two or three year high school conducted by a school district. The board of education for each non-high school district shall consist of the county superintendent of schools who shall be an ex-officio member of the board and secretary thereof but who shall have no vote, and 3 members each of whom shall serve for 4 years from the first Monday of the month following his election. At the first such election those elected shall, by lot, determine one to serve for 2 years and 2 for 4 years; thereafter all terms shall be for 4 years. When a vacancy occurs on the board, the remaining members shall, within 30 days, fill the vacancy by appointment until the next regular election for members of the board. Within 10 days after the commencement of their terms the members of the board shall meet and organize by electing one of their number president.
    Notwithstanding any provision of Article 7 the non-high school board shall remain in existence after the elimination of all the non-high school territory of the county for which it was elected until it prepares for and delivers to the county clerk a final statement showing the amount of debts or obligations, other than bonded indebtedness, of the district, the date upon which such debts or obligations were incurred and to whom the obligations run, together with a map showing the extent of the territory on such dates.
    This section does not prevent the organization of any territory of non-high school districts into community high school districts.
(Source: P.A. 80-1469.)