(70 ILCS 1855/3) (from Ch. 19, par. 453)
    Sec. 3. There is created a political subdivision, body politic and municipal corporation by the name of Southwest Regional Port District which shall embrace, include and consist of all of the incorporated and unincorporated territory of the following civil townships in St. Clair County: Canteen, Centreville, East St. Louis, Stites, and Sugar Loaf.
    Territory may be annexed to the District in the manner hereinafter provided in this Act.
    The District may sue and be sued in its corporate name, but execution shall not in any case issue against any of the property or assets of the District. The District may adopt a common seal and change the same at its pleasure.
    All property of every kind belonging to the District shall be exempt from taxation, provided that taxes may be assessed and levied upon a lessee of the District by reason of the value of a leasehold estate separate and apart from the fee and upon such improvements as are constructed and owned by others than the District. All property of the District shall be construed as constituting public property owned by a municipal corporation and used exclusively for public purposes within the provisions of Section 15-155 of the Property Tax Code.
(Source: P.A. 88-670, eff. 12-2-94.)