(50 ILCS 705/8.2)
    (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 101-652)
    Sec. 8.2. Part-time police officers.
    (a) A person hired to serve as a part-time police officer must obtain from the Board a certificate (i) attesting to his or her successful completion of the part-time police training course; (ii) attesting to his or her satisfactory completion of a training program of similar content and number of hours that has been found acceptable by the Board under the provisions of this Act; or (iii) attesting to the Board's determination that the part-time police training course is unnecessary because of the person's extensive prior law enforcement experience. A person hired on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly must obtain this certificate within 18 months after the initial date of hire as a probationary part-time police officer in the State of Illinois. The probationary part-time police officer must be enrolled and accepted into a Board-approved course within 6 months after active employment by any department in the State. A person hired on or after January 1, 1996 and before the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly must obtain this certificate within 18 months after the date of hire. A person hired before January 1, 1996 must obtain this certificate within 24 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.
    The employing agency may seek a waiver from the Board extending the period for compliance. A waiver shall be issued only for good and justifiable reasons, and the probationary part-time police officer may not practice as a part-time police officer during the waiver period. If training is required and not completed within the applicable time period, as extended by any waiver that may be granted, then the officer must forfeit his or her position.
    (b) (Blank).
    (c) The part-time police training course referred to in this Section shall be of similar content and the same number of hours as the courses for full-time officers and shall be provided by Mobile Team In-Service Training Units under the Intergovernmental Law Enforcement Officer's In-Service Training Act or by another approved program or facility in a manner prescribed by the Board.
    (d) For the purposes of this Section, the Board shall adopt rules defining what constitutes employment on a part-time basis.
(Source: P.A. 92-533, eff. 3-14-02.)
 
    (Text of Section after amendment by P.A. 101-652)
    Sec. 8.2. Part-time law enforcement officers.
    (a) A person hired to serve as a part-time law enforcement officer must obtain from the Board a certificate (i) attesting to the officer's successful completion of the part-time police training course; (ii) attesting to the officer's satisfactory completion of a training program of similar content and number of hours that has been found acceptable by the Board under the provisions of this Act; or (iii) a training waiver attesting to the Board's determination that the part-time police training course is unnecessary because of the person's extensive prior law enforcement experience. A person hired on or after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly must obtain this certificate within 18 months after the initial date of hire as a probationary part-time law enforcement officer in the State of Illinois. The probationary part-time law enforcement officer must be enrolled and accepted into a Board-approved course within 6 months after active employment by any department in the State. A person hired on or after January 1, 1996 and before the effective date of this amendatory Act of the 92nd General Assembly must obtain this certificate within 18 months after the date of hire. A person hired before January 1, 1996 must obtain this certificate within 24 months after the effective date of this amendatory Act of 1995.
    The employing agency may seek an extension waiver from the Board extending the period for compliance. An extension waiver shall be issued only for good and justifiable reasons, and the probationary part-time law enforcement officer may not practice as a part-time law enforcement officer during the extension waiver period. If training is required and not completed within the applicable time period, as extended by any waiver that may be granted, then the officer must forfeit the officer's position.
    An individual who is not certified by the Board or whose certified status is inactive shall not function as a law enforcement officer, be assigned the duties of a law enforcement officer by an agency, or be authorized to carry firearms under the authority of the employer, except that sheriffs who are elected are exempt from the requirement of certified status. Failure to be in accordance with this Act shall cause the officer to forfeit the officer's position.
    A part-time probationary officer shall be allowed to complete six months of a part-time police training course and function as a law enforcement officer with a waiver from the Board, provided the part-time law enforcement officer is still enrolled in the training course. If the part-time probationary officer withdraws from the course for any reason or does not complete the course within the applicable time period, as extended by any waiver that may be granted, then the officer must forfeit the officer's position.
    A governmental agency may not grant a person status as a law enforcement officer unless the person has been granted an active law enforcement officer certification by the Board.
    (b) Inactive status. A person who has an inactive law enforcement officer certification has no law enforcement authority.
        (1) A law enforcement officer's certification becomes
    
inactive upon termination, resignation, retirement, or separation from the governmental agency for any reason. The Board shall re-activate a certification upon written application from the law enforcement officer's governmental agency that shows the law enforcement officer: (i) has accepted a part-time law enforcement position with that a governmental agency, (ii) is not the subject of a decertification proceeding, and (iii) meets all other criteria for re-activation required by the Board.
        The Board may refuse to re-activate the certification
    
of a law enforcement officer who was involuntarily terminated for good cause by the officer's governmental agency for conduct subject to decertification under this Act or resigned or retired after receiving notice of a governmental agency's investigation.
        (2) A law enforcement officer who is currently
    
certified can place his or her certificate on inactive status by sending a written request to the Board. A law enforcement officer whose certificate has been placed on inactive status shall not function as a law enforcement officer until the officer has completed any requirements for reactivating the certificate as required by the Board. A request for inactive status in this subsection shall be in writing, accompanied by verifying documentation, and shall be submitted to the Board by the law enforcement officer's governmental agency.
        (3) Certification that has become inactive under
    
paragraph (2) of this subsection (b), shall be reactivated by written notice from the law enforcement officer's agency upon a showing that the law enforcement officer is: (i) employed in a full-time law enforcement position with the same governmental agency, (ii) not the subject of a decertification proceeding, and (iii) meets all other criteria for re-activation required by the Board. The Board may also establish special training requirements to be completed as a condition for re-activation.
        A law enforcement officer who is refused reactivation
    
under this Section may request a hearing in accordance with the hearing procedures as outlined in subsection (h) of Section 6.3 of this Act.
        (4) Notwithstanding paragraph (3) of this Section, a
    
law enforcement officer whose certification has become inactive under paragraph (2) may have the officer's governmental agency submit a request for a waiver of training requirements to the Board. A grant of a waiver is within the discretion of the Board. Within 7 days of receiving a request for a waiver under this section, the Board shall notify the law enforcement officer and the chief administrator of the law enforcement officer's governmental agency, whether the request has been granted, denied, or if the Board will take additional time for information. A law enforcement officer whose request for a waiver under this subsection is denied is entitled to appeal the denial to the Board within 20 days of the waiver being denied.
    (c) The part-time police training course referred to in this Section shall be of similar content and the same number of hours as the courses for full-time officers and shall be provided by Mobile Team In-Service Training Units under the Intergovernmental Law Enforcement Officer's In-Service Training Act or by another approved program or facility in a manner prescribed by the Board.
    (d) Within 14 days, a law enforcement officer shall report to the Board: (1) any name change; (2) any change in employment; or (3) the filing of any criminal indictment or charges against the officer alleging that the officer committed any offense as enumerated in Section 6.1 of this Act.
    (e) All law enforcement officers must report the completion of the training requirements required in this Act in compliance with Section 8.4 of this Act.
    (e-1) Each employing agency shall allow and provide an opportunity for a law enforcement officer to complete the requirements in this Act.
    (f) For the purposes of this Section, the Board shall adopt rules defining what constitutes employment on a part-time basis.
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 1-1-22.)