(20 ILCS 4060/10)
    Sec. 10. Wabash and Ohio Rivers Coordinating Council.
    (a) There is established the Wabash and Ohio Rivers Coordinating Council (Council), consisting of 13 voting members. One member shall be the Lieutenant Governor who shall serve as a voting member and as chairperson of the Council. The Directors of the following agencies and departments, or their designees, shall serve as ex-officio voting members: the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Transportation. In addition, the Council shall include one member, appointed by the Governor, representing soil and water conservation districts located in the proximity of the Wabash and Ohio Rivers and its tributaries, and 6 members, appointed by the Governor, representing local communities and not-for-profit organizations working to protect the Wabash and Ohio Rivers and their tributaries, businesses, agriculture, recreation, conservation, and the environment.
    (b) The Governor may appoint, as non-voting members, individuals representing the interests of the states that border the Wabash and Ohio Rivers and individuals representing federal agencies.
    (c) The voting members of the Council who are appointed by the Governor shall serve 2-year terms, except that of the initial appointments, 3 members shall be appointed to serve 2-year terms and 4 members to serve one-year terms.
    (d) The Council shall meet at least quarterly.
    (e) The Office of the Lieutenant Governor shall be responsible for the operations of the Council, including, without limitation, funding and oversight of the Council's activities. Members of the Council shall serve without compensation, but may be reimbursed for necessary travel expenses.
    (f) This Section is subject to the provisions of Section 405-500 of the Department of Central Management Services Law.
(Source: P.A. 95-132, eff. 1-1-08.)