(20 ILCS 4003/10)
    Sec. 10. Mississippi River Coordinating Council.
    (a) There is established the Mississippi River Coordinating Council (Council), consisting of 16 voting members to be appointed by the Governor. One member shall be the Lieutenant Governor who shall serve as a voting member and as chairperson of the Council. The agency members of the Council shall include the Directors, or their designees, of the following: the Department of Agriculture, the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity, the Illinois Environmental Protection Agency, the Department of Natural Resources, and the Department of Transportation. In addition, the Council shall include one member representing Soil and Water Conservation Districts located in the proximity of the Mississippi River and its tributaries, and 8 members representing local communities, not-for-profit organizations working to protect the Mississippi River and its tributaries, businesses, agriculture, recreation, conservation, and the environment, 2 of which must reside within a county that is adjacent to the Mississippi River.
    (b) The Governor may appoint, as ex-officio members, individuals representing the interests of the states who border the Mississippi River and individuals representing federal agencies.
    (c) Members of the Council shall serve 2-year terms, except that of the initial appointments, 5 members shall be appointed to serve 3-year terms and 4 members to serve one-year terms.
    (d) The Council shall meet at least quarterly.
    (e) The Office of the Lieutenant Governor shall be responsible for the operations of the Council, including, without limitation, funding and oversight of the Council's activities. The Office may reimburse members of the Council for travel expenses.
    (f) This Section is subject to the provisions of Section 405-500 of the Department of Central Management Services Law.
    (g) The members of the Council shall appoint one member of the Council to serve as the Illinois representative to the National Mississippi River Parkway Commission.
(Source: P.A. 100-695, eff. 8-3-18.)