(20 ILCS 2610/14) (from Ch. 121, par. 307.14)
    Sec. 14. Except as is otherwise provided in this Act, no Illinois State Police officer shall be removed, demoted, or suspended except for cause, upon written charges filed with the Board by the Director and a hearing before the Board thereon upon not less than 10 days' notice at a place to be designated by the chairman thereof. At such hearing, the accused shall be afforded full opportunity to be heard in his or her own defense and to produce proof in his or her defense. It shall not be a requirement of a person filing a complaint against a State Police officer to have a complaint supported by a sworn affidavit or any other legal documentation. This ban on an affidavit requirement shall apply to any collective bargaining agreements entered after the effective date of this provision.
    Before any such officer may be interrogated or examined by or before the Board, or by an Illinois State Police agent or investigator specifically assigned to conduct an internal investigation, the results of which hearing, interrogation, or examination may be the basis for filing charges seeking his or her suspension for more than 15 days or his or her removal or discharge, he or she shall be advised in writing as to what specific improper or illegal act he or she is alleged to have committed; he or she shall be advised in writing that his or her admissions made in the course of the hearing, interrogation, or examination may be used as the basis for charges seeking his or her suspension, removal, or discharge; and he or she shall be advised in writing that he or she has a right to counsel of his or her choosing, who may be present to advise him or her at any hearing, interrogation, or examination. A complete record of any hearing, interrogation, or examination shall be made, and a complete transcript or electronic recording thereof shall be made available to such officer without charge and without delay.
    The Board shall have the power to secure by its subpoena both the attendance and testimony of witnesses and the production of books and papers in support of the charges and for the defense. Each member of the Board or a designated hearing officer shall have the power to administer oaths or affirmations. If the charges against an accused are established by a preponderance of evidence, the Board shall make a finding of guilty and order either removal, demotion, suspension for a period of not more than 180 days, or such other disciplinary punishment as may be prescribed by the rules and regulations of the Board which, in the opinion of the members thereof, the offense merits. Thereupon the Director shall direct such removal or other punishment as ordered by the Board and if the accused refuses to abide by any such disciplinary order, the Director shall remove him or her forthwith.
    If the accused is found not guilty or has served a period of suspension greater than prescribed by the Board, the Board shall order that the officer receive compensation for the period involved. The award of compensation shall include interest at the rate of 7% per annum.
    The Board may include in its order appropriate sanctions based upon the Board's rules and regulations. If the Board finds that a party has made allegations or denials without reasonable cause or has engaged in frivolous litigation for the purpose of delay or needless increase in the cost of litigation, it may order that party to pay the other party's reasonable expenses, including costs and reasonable attorney's fees. The State of Illinois and the Illinois State Police shall be subject to these sanctions in the same manner as other parties.
    In case of the neglect or refusal of any person to obey a subpoena issued by the Board, any circuit court, upon application of any member of the Board, may order such person to appear before the Board and give testimony or produce evidence, and any failure to obey such order is punishable by the court as a contempt thereof.
    The provisions of the Administrative Review Law, and all amendments and modifications thereof, and the rules adopted pursuant thereto, shall apply to and govern all proceedings for the judicial review of any order of the Board rendered pursuant to the provisions of this Section.
    Notwithstanding the provisions of this Section, a policy making officer, as defined in the Employee Rights Violation Act, of the Illinois State Police shall be discharged from the Illinois State Police as provided in the Employee Rights Violation Act, enacted by the 85th General Assembly.
(Source: P.A. 101-652, eff. 7-1-21; 102-538, eff. 8-20-21; 102-813, eff. 5-13-22.)