(5 ILCS 190/1) (from Ch. 123, par. 1)
    Sec. 1. That the seat of government shall continue to be at Springfield, in the County of Sangamon, at which place all acts shall be done which are required to be done at the seat of government: Provided, that they may be done at some other place, to be designated by the Governor, when it is necessary in consequence of pestilence or public danger.
(Source: R.S. 1874, p. 985.)