Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB0414
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB0414  101st General Assembly


Sen. Rachelle Crowe

Filed: 3/28/2019





10100SB0414sam001LRB101 04188 SLF 58632 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 414 by replacing
3everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4    "Section 5. The Criminal Code of 2012 is amended by
5changing Section 12C-5 as follows:
6    (720 ILCS 5/12C-5)   (was 720 ILCS 5/12-21.6)
7    Sec. 12C-5. Endangering the life or health of a child.
8    (a) A person commits endangering the life or health of a
9child when he or she knowingly: (1) causes or permits the life
10or health of a child under the age of 18 to be endangered; or
11(2) causes or permits a child to be placed in circumstances
12that endanger the child's life or health. It is not a violation
13of this Section for a person to relinquish a child in
14accordance with the Abandoned Newborn Infant Protection Act.
15    (a-5) A person commits aggravated endangering the life or
16health of a child when he or she knowingly and willfully



10100SB0414sam001- 2 -LRB101 04188 SLF 58632 a

1deprives a child under the age of 18 of necessary food,
2shelter, health care, or supervision appropriate to the age of
3the child, when the person is reasonably able to make the
4necessary provisions and which deprivation substantially harms
5the child's physical, mental, or emotional health. In this
6subsection (a-5), the failure to provide specific medical
7treatment shall not alone be considered willful deprivation of
8health care if the person can show that the treatment would
9conflict with the tenets and practice of a recognized religious
10denomination of which the person is an adherent or member. This
11exception does not in any manner restrict the right of an
12interested party to petition the court on behalf of the best
13interest of the child.
14    (b) A trier of fact may infer that a child 6 years of age or
15younger is unattended if that child is left in a motor vehicle
16for more than 10 minutes.
17    (c) "Unattended" means either: (i) not accompanied by a
18person 14 years of age or older; or (ii) if accompanied by a
19person 14 years of age or older, out of sight of that person.
20    (d) Sentence. A violation of subsection (a) this Section is
21a Class A misdemeanor. A second or subsequent violation of
22subsection (a) this Section is a Class 3 felony. A violation of
23subsection (a) this Section that is a proximate cause of the
24death of the child is a Class 3 felony for which a person, if
25sentenced to a term of imprisonment, shall be sentenced to a
26term of not less than 2 years and not more than 10 years. A



10100SB0414sam001- 3 -LRB101 04188 SLF 58632 a

1violation of subsection (a-5) is a Class 4 felony. A parent,
2who is found to be in violation of this Section with respect to
3his or her child, may be sentenced to probation for this
4offense pursuant to Section 12C-15.
5(Source: P.A. 97-1109, eff. 1-1-13.)".