Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB2188
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB2188  97th General Assembly


Rep. John E. Bradley

Filed: 5/26/2011





09700SB2188ham001LRB097 08330 PJG 56310 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 2188 on page 1, by
3replacing line 5 with the following:
4"Sections 4c and 9 as follows:
5    (20 ILCS 415/4c)  (from Ch. 127, par. 63b104c)
6    Sec. 4c. General exemptions. The following positions in
7State service shall be exempt from jurisdictions A, B, and C,
8unless the jurisdictions shall be extended as provided in this
10        (1) All officers elected by the people.
11        (2) All positions under the Lieutenant Governor,
12    Secretary of State, State Treasurer, State Comptroller,
13    State Board of Education, Clerk of the Supreme Court,
14    Attorney General, and State Board of Elections.
15        (3) Judges, and officers and employees of the courts,
16    and notaries public.



09700SB2188ham001- 2 -LRB097 08330 PJG 56310 a

1        (4) All officers and employees of the Illinois General
2    Assembly, all employees of legislative commissions, all
3    officers and employees of the Illinois Legislative
4    Reference Bureau, the Legislative Research Unit, and the
5    Legislative Printing Unit.
6        (5) All positions in the Illinois National Guard and
7    Illinois State Guard, paid from federal funds or positions
8    in the State Military Service filled by enlistment and paid
9    from State funds.
10        (6) All employees of the Governor at the executive
11    mansion and on his immediate personal staff.
12        (7) Directors of Departments, the Adjutant General,
13    the Assistant Adjutant General, the Director of the
14    Illinois Emergency Management Agency, members of boards
15    and commissions, and all other positions appointed by the
16    Governor by and with the consent of the Senate.
17        (8) The presidents, other principal administrative
18    officers, and teaching, research and extension faculties
19    of Chicago State University, Eastern Illinois University,
20    Governors State University, Illinois State University,
21    Northeastern Illinois University, Northern Illinois
22    University, Western Illinois University, the Illinois
23    Community College Board, Southern Illinois University,
24    Illinois Board of Higher Education, University of
25    Illinois, State Universities Civil Service System,
26    University Retirement System of Illinois, and the



09700SB2188ham001- 3 -LRB097 08330 PJG 56310 a

1    administrative officers and scientific and technical staff
2    of the Illinois State Museum.
3        (9) All other employees except the presidents, other
4    principal administrative officers, and teaching, research
5    and extension faculties of the universities under the
6    jurisdiction of the Board of Regents and the colleges and
7    universities under the jurisdiction of the Board of
8    Governors of State Colleges and Universities, Illinois
9    Community College Board, Southern Illinois University,
10    Illinois Board of Higher Education, Board of Governors of
11    State Colleges and Universities, the Board of Regents,
12    University of Illinois, State Universities Civil Service
13    System, University Retirement System of Illinois, so long
14    as these are subject to the provisions of the State
15    Universities Civil Service Act.
16        (10) The State Police so long as they are subject to
17    the merit provisions of the State Police Act.
18        (11) (Blank).
19        (12) The technical and engineering staffs of the
20    Department of Transportation, the Department of Nuclear
21    Safety, the Pollution Control Board, and the Illinois
22    Commerce Commission, and the technical and engineering
23    staff providing architectural and engineering services in
24    the Department of Central Management Services.
25        (13) All employees of the Illinois State Toll Highway
26    Authority.



09700SB2188ham001- 4 -LRB097 08330 PJG 56310 a

1        (14) The Secretary of the Illinois Workers'
2    Compensation Commission.
3        (15) All persons who are appointed or employed by the
4    Director of Insurance under authority of Section 202 of the
5    Illinois Insurance Code to assist the Director of Insurance
6    in discharging his responsibilities relating to the
7    rehabilitation, liquidation, conservation, and dissolution
8    of companies that are subject to the jurisdiction of the
9    Illinois Insurance Code.
10        (16) All employees of the St. Louis Metropolitan Area
11    Airport Authority.
12        (17) All investment officers employed by the Illinois
13    State Board of Investment.
14        (18) Employees of the Illinois Young Adult
15    Conservation Corps program, administered by the Illinois
16    Department of Natural Resources, authorized grantee under
17    Title VIII of the Comprehensive Employment and Training Act
18    of 1973, 29 USC 993.
19        (19) Seasonal employees of the Department of
20    Agriculture for the operation of the Illinois State Fair
21    and the DuQuoin State Fair, no one person receiving more
22    than 29 days of such employment in any calendar year.
23        (20) All "temporary" employees hired under the
24    Department of Natural Resources' Illinois Conservation
25    Service, a youth employment program that hires young people
26    to work in State parks for a period of one year or less.



09700SB2188ham001- 5 -LRB097 08330 PJG 56310 a

1        (21) All hearing officers of the Human Rights
2    Commission.
3        (22) All employees of the Illinois Mathematics and
4    Science Academy.
5        (23) All employees of the Kankakee River Valley Area
6    Airport Authority.
7        (24) The commissioners and employees of the Executive
8    Ethics Commission.
9        (25) The Executive Inspectors General, including
10    special Executive Inspectors General, and employees of
11    each Office of an Executive Inspector General.
12        (26) The commissioners and employees of the
13    Legislative Ethics Commission.
14        (27) The Legislative Inspector General, including
15    special Legislative Inspectors General, and employees of
16    the Office of the Legislative Inspector General.
17        (28) The Auditor General's Inspector General and
18    employees of the Office of the Auditor General's Inspector
19    General.
20(Source: P.A. 95-728, eff. 7-1-08 - See Sec. 999.)".