Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of HB1263
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of HB1263  97th General Assembly


Sen. Antonio Muñoz

Filed: 1/2/2013





09700HB1263sam006LRB097 07183 JWD 73022 a


2    AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 1263, AS AMENDED,
3with reference to page and line numbers of Senate Amendment No.
45, by replacing lines 8 through 26 of page 11 and lines 1
5through 8 of page 12 with the following:
6    "(a-5) The Department of State Police shall take all steps
7necessary to carry out the requirements of this Section within
8150 days after the effective date of this amendatory Act of the
997th General Assembly.
10    (b) Except as otherwise provided in subsections (c) and
11(d), 240 days after the effective ate of this amendatory Act of
12the 97th General Assembly, it is unlawful for any person within
13this State to knowingly possess a semi-automatic assault
14weapon, an assault weapon attachment, a .50 caliber rifle, or a
15.50 caliber cartridge.
16    (c) This Section does not apply to a person who possessed a
17semi-automatic assault weapon, an assault weapon attachment, a
18.50 caliber rifle, or a .50 caliber cartridge prohibited by



09700HB1263sam006- 2 -LRB097 07183 JWD 73022 a

1subsection (b-5) before the effective date of this amendatory
2Act of the 97th General Assembly provided that the person has
3provided proof of ownership, his or her name, and other
4identifying information, as the Department of State Police may
5direct, including, but not limited to, the individual's Firearm
6Owner's Identification Card number and the description and
7serial number (if any) of each weapon or attachment, to the
8Department of State Police, as required by the Department, on
9or after 150 days after the effective date of this amendatory
10Act of the 97th General Assembly but within 240 days after the
11effective date of this amendatory Act of the 97th General
12Assembly. Beginning 240 days after the effective date of this
13amendatory Act of the 97th General Assembly, the person may
14transfer the semi-automatic assault weapon, assault weapon
15attachment, .50 caliber rifle, or .50 caliber cartridge only to
16an heir, an individual residing in another state maintaining
17that device in another state, or a dealer licensed as a federal
18firearms dealer under Section 923 of the federal Gun Control
19Act of 1968. Within 10 days after transfer of the
20semi-automatic assault weapon, assault weapon attachment, .50
21caliber rifle, or .50 caliber cartridge, the person shall
22notify the Department of State Police of the name and address
23of the transferee and comply with the requirements of
24subsection (b) of Section 3 of the Firearm Owners
25Identification Card Act. The Department shall promulgate any
26rules it may deem necessary to carry out the provisions of this



09700HB1263sam006- 3 -LRB097 07183 JWD 73022 a

1subsection, and may utilize emergency rule making under Section
25-45 of the Illinois Administrative Procedure Act in its
3initial implementation of the provisions of this subsection
5    (c-5) For the purpose of receiving and processing the
6information required to be submitted under subsection (c), the
7Department of State Police shall charge a registration fee of
8$10 per semi-automatic assault weapon or assault weapon
9attachment, and $15 per .50 caliber rifle. The fees collected
10under this subsection shall be deposited into the LEADS
11Maintenance Fund. "; and
12by replacing lines 19 through 26 of page 13 and lines 1 through
138 of page 12 with the following:
14    "(8) The possession of a semi-automatic assault weapon only
15for a hunting use expressly permitted under the Wildlife Code,
16or while traveling to or from a location authorized for such
17hunting use under the Wildlife Code if the weapon is broken
18down in a"; and
19on page 14, line 12 by changing "(10)" to "(9)"; and
20on page 18, by replacing lines 14 and 15 with the following:
21    "Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect July 1,