Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SB0862
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

Full Text of SB0862  94th General Assembly


Sen. Miguel del Valle

Filed: 11/15/2006





09400SB0862sam001 LRB094 04497 NHT 60459 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend Senate Bill 862 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The School Code is amended by changing Section
5 21-2.1 as follows:
6     (105 ILCS 5/21-2.1)  (from Ch. 122, par. 21-2.1)
7     Sec. 21-2.1. Early childhood certificate.
8     (a) An early childhood certificate shall be valid for 4
9 years for teaching children up to 6 years of age, exclusive of
10 children enrolled in kindergarten, in facilities approved by
11 the State Superintendent of Education. Beginning July 1, 1988,
12 such certificate shall be valid for 4 years for Teaching
13 children through grade 3 in facilities approved by the State
14 Superintendent of Education. Subject to the provisions of
15 Section 21-1a, it shall be issued to persons who have graduated
16 from a recognized institution of higher learning with a
17 bachelor's degree and with not fewer than 120 semester hours
18 including professional education or human development or,
19 until July 1, 1992, to persons who have early childhood
20 education instruction and practical experience involving
21 supervised work with children under 6 years of age or with
22 children through grade 3. Such persons shall be recommended for
23 the early childhood certificate by a recognized institution as
24 having completed an approved program of preparation which



09400SB0862sam001 - 2 - LRB094 04497 NHT 60459 a

1 includes the requisite hours and academic and professional
2 courses and practical experience approved by the State
3 Superintendent of Education in consultation with the State
4 Teacher Certification Board. The student teaching portion of
5 such practical experience may be satisfied through placement in
6 any of grades pre-kindergarten (which consists of children from
7 3 years through 5 years of age) through 3, provided that the
8 student is under the active supervision of a cooperating
9 teacher who is certified and qualified (i) in early childhood
10 education or (ii) in self-contained, general elementary
11 education. Candidates for the early childhood certificate
12 (including paraprofessionals) Paraprofessionals with at least
13 one year of experience in a school or community-based early
14 childhood setting who are enrolled in early-childhood teacher
15 preparation programs may be paid and receive credit while
16 student teaching with their current employer, provided that
17 their student teaching experience meets the requirements of
18 their early-childhood teacher preparation program.
19     (b) Beginning February 15, 2000, Initial and Standard Early
20 Childhood Education Certificates shall be issued to persons who
21 meet the criteria established by the State Board of Education.
22 (Source: P.A. 94-1034, eff. 1-1-07.)
23     Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect January
24 1, 2007.".