Sen. James A. DeLeo

Filed: 3/21/2006





09400HB0874sam001 LRB094 03595 HLH 57222 a


2     AMENDMENT NO. ______. Amend House Bill 874 by replacing
3 everything after the enacting clause with the following:
4     "Section 5. The Illinois Municipal Code is amended by
5 changing Section 11-55-2 as follows:
6     (65 ILCS 5/11-55-2)  (from Ch. 24, par. 11-55-2)
7     Sec. 11-55-2. No municipality with a population of less
8 than 1,000,000, including a home rule unit, may increase the
9 fee for a license to own or operate a vending machine or to
10 dispense goods or services therefrom unless notice of a public
11 hearing on the matter has been given and such hearing has been
12 held. The amount of the increase annually shall not exceed the
13 greater of (i) $25, (ii) the amount of the fee multiplied by
14 5%, or (iii) the amount of the fee multiplied by the percentage
15 increase in the Consumer Price Index for All Urban Consumers
16 for all items published by the United States Department of
17 Labor during the 12-month calendar year preceding the year in
18 which the fee is increased. Notice of the proposed increase
19 shall be mailed at least 30 days before the hearing to the last
20 known address of each person currently holding such a license.
21 It is declared to be the law of this State, pursuant to
22 paragraph (g) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois
23 Constitution, that this Section amendatory Act of 1986 is a
24 denial of the power of certain home rule units to increase



09400HB0874sam001 - 2 - LRB094 03595 HLH 57222 a

1 vending machine license fees without complying with the
2 requirements of this Section.
3 (Source: P.A. 84-1479.)
4     Section 99. Effective date. This Act takes effect upon
5 becoming law.".