Illinois General Assembly - Full Text of SR0710
Illinois General Assembly

  Bills & Resolutions  
  Compiled Statutes  
  Public Acts  
  Legislative Reports  
  IL Constitution  
  Legislative Guide  
  Legislative Glossary  

 Search By Number
 (example: HB0001)
Search Tips

Search By Keyword

Full Text of SR0710  102nd General Assembly




10200SR0710 EnrolledLRB102 22870 ECR 32021 r


2    WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, founded
3on the campus of Howard University in 1908 and incorporated in
41913, has established a mandate for carrying out the vision of
5a new day of excellence and performance; and
6    WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority is the nation's oldest
7African-American sorority; it has never changed its mission to
8cultivate and encourage high scholastic and ethical standards,
9to promote unity and friendship among college women, to help
10alleviate problems concerning girls and women in order to
11improve their social status, to maintain a progressive
12interest in college life, and to be of "Service to All
13Mankind"; and
14    WHEREAS, The 2018-2022 Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.
15administration, under the dynamic and creative leadership of
16International President Dr. Glenda Glover, who also serves as
17the first female President of her alma mater Tennessee State
18University in Nashville, Tennessee, continues to fulfill the
19service imperative of the organization's founders with the
20International Program "Exemplifying Excellence Through
21Sustainable Service"; this program concentrates on: Target
22#1-Historically Black Colleges and Universities-A Call for
23Action, Target #2-Women's Health and Wellness, Target



10200SR0710 Enrolled- 2 -LRB102 22870 ECR 32021 r

1#3-Building Your Economic Legacy, Target #4-The Arts, and
2Target #5-Global Impact; and
3    WHEREAS, Many prominent women have been or are members of
4Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc., including the late First
5Lady Eleanor Roosevelt, the late civil rights leaders Coretta
6Scott King and Rosa Parks, actress Phylicia Rashad, the late
7poet Maya Angelou, the late writer Toni Morrison, singer
8Alicia Keys, attorney Star Jones, financial expert Mellody
9Hobson, comedian/actress Wanda Sykes, actress Jada
10Pinkett-Smith, Cook County Recorder of Deeds Karen Yarbrough,
11Cook County Board of Commissioners President Toni Preckwinkle,
12Vice President Kamala Harris, and the former President of
13Liberia, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf; and
14    WHEREAS, Lt. Governor Juliana Stratton and Representative
15LaToya Greenwood are the newest members of Alpha Kappa Alpha
16Sorority, Inc.; seasoned members of the sorority include
17Majority Caucus Chair Mattie Hunter; and
18    WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha's storied history of proven
19leadership and extensive involvement in the world community
20through strategic partnerships evidence the sorority's
21potential to significantly contribute to the world community;



10200SR0710 Enrolled- 3 -LRB102 22870 ECR 32021 r

1    WHEREAS, Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated made
2history and expanded its international presence when it
3chartered its first chapter, Omega Theta Omega, in the Middle
4East; the chapter's 37 women, located in Abu Dhabi, Dubai and
5throughout the United Arab Emirates, are business executives,
6attorneys, educators, and physicians, among other accomplished
7professionals; and
8    WHEREAS, Leadership development is essential to the
9vitality of the organization, and the sorority's continuing
10requirements of academic excellence, shared values, and
11dedication to the mission of Alpha Kappa Alpha ensure a
12continuous wellspring of quality leaders; therefore, be it
14ASSEMBLY OF THE STATE OF ILLINOIS, that we declare the date of
15May 12, 2022 as Alpha Kappa Alpha Day in the State of Illinois
16in honor of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated, and its
17work; and be it further
18    RESOLVED, That suitable copies of this resolution be
19presented to Central Regional Director Sonya L. Bowen,
20International President Dr. Glenda Glover, Illinois State
21Connection Coordinator Kimberly Irene Egonmwan, and Illinois
22State Connection Chair Nia Odeoti-Hassan.