Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB0801
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB0801  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz - Rita Mayfield, Dagmara Avelar, Tony McCombie, Martin J. Moylan, David A. Welter, Maura Hirschauer, Janet Yang Rohr, Mark Batinick, Joyce Mason, Ryan Spain and Ann M. Williams

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
35 ILCS 5/232 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Creates an income tax credit for an employer who hires a qualified employee to work at a location in the State. Sets forth the amount of the credit. Provides that the credit shall be increased if (i) the qualified employee is hired to work at a location in a disproportionately impacted area or (ii) on the date the qualified employee is hired, the qualified employee resides in a disproportionately impacted area. Limits the total amount of income tax credits that the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity may issue over the duration of the program. Provides that the term "qualified employee" means a resident of the State who is hired by the taxpayer to fill a full-time net new job and was unemployed as a result of COVID-19 prior to the date he or she was hired by the taxpayer. Provides that the term "qualified employee" does not include an individual who was furloughed by the taxpayer. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/9/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/10/2021HouseFirst Reading
  2/10/2021HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  2/24/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tony McCombie
  2/26/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  3/2/2021HouseAssigned to Revenue & Finance Committee
  3/8/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David A. Welter
  3/11/2021HouseTo Income Tax Subcommittee
  3/12/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  3/17/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark Batinick
  3/18/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  3/21/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  3/27/2021HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top