Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5510
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5510  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Gregory Harris - Tom Demmer - André Thapedi - Frances Ann Hurley - Ryan Spain, Emanuel Chris Welch, Jeff Keicher, Michael T. Marron, Elizabeth Hernandez, Jonathan Carroll, John Connor, Anna Moeller, Michelle Mussman, Deb Conroy, Ann M. Williams, Margo McDermed, Mike Murphy, Grant Wehrli, Theresa Mah, Michael J. Zalewski, Keith R. Wheeler, Martin J. Moylan, Bob Morgan, Nicholas K. Smith, Norine K. Hammond, William Davis, Justin Slaughter, Keith P. Sommer, Arthur Turner, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., Maurice A. West, II, Robyn Gabel, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Jawaharial Williams, Carol Ammons, Sonya M. Harper, Kambium Buckner, Patrick Windhorst, Kelly M. Cassidy, Andrew S. Chesney, John M. Cabello and Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act
215 ILCS 134/45.2
215 ILCS 134/70
305 ILCS 5/5-5.12d new

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Prior Authorization Reform Act. Provides requirements concerning disclosure and review of prior authorization requirements, denial of claims or coverage by a utilization review program, and the implementation of prior authorization requirements or restrictions. Provides requirements concerning a utilization review program's obligations with respect to prior authorizations in nonurgent circumstances, urgent health care services, and emergency health care services. Provides that a utilization review program shall not require prior authorization under specified circumstances. Provides requirements concerning the length of prior authorizations. Provides that health care services are automatically deemed authorized if a utilization review program fails to comply with the requirements of the Act. Provides that the Director of Insurance may impose an administrative fine not to exceed $250,000 for violations of the Act. Defines terms. Amends the Managed Care Reform and Patient Rights Act to provide that an insurer that provides prescription drug benefits must comply with the requirements of the Prior Authorization Reform Act. Provides that if prior authorization for covered post-stabilization services is required by a health care plan, the plan shall comply with the requirements of the Prior Authorization Reform Act. Amends the Illinois Public Aid Code to provide that all managed care organizations shall comply with the requirements of the Prior Authorization Reform Act. Makes other changes. Effective January 1, 2021.

DateChamber Action
  2/14/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Gregory Harris
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. André Thapedi
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  2/14/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Michael T. Marron
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. John Connor
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Margo McDermed
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Mike Murphy
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Grant Wehrli
  2/14/2020HouseCo-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith R. Wheeler
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Martin J. Moylan
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/18/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  2/25/2020HouseAssigned to Human Services Committee
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur Turner
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  2/27/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jawaharial Williams
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carol Ammons
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Andrew S. Chesney
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top