Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4238
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4238  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Greg Harris - Tom Demmer - Elizabeth Hernandez - Deb Conroy - Kambium Buckner, Ryan Spain, Robyn Gabel, Mark L. Walker, Michelle Mussman, Anna Moeller, Margaret Croke, Kathleen Willis, Barbara Hernandez, Lakesia Collins, Kelly M. Cassidy, Lindsey LaPointe, Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Anne Stava-Murray, Daniel Didech, Theresa Mah, Michael Halpin, Ann M. Williams, Natalie A. Manley, Justin Slaughter, Delia C. Ramirez, Terra Costa Howard, Suzanne Ness, Tim Butler, Charles Meier, Maurice A. West, II, Michael Kelly, Frances Ann Hurley, Katie Stuart, Sue Scherer, Denyse Wang Stoneback, Amy Elik, Bob Morgan, Patrick Windhorst, Aaron M. Ortiz, Norine K. Hammond, Jackie Haas, Amy Grant, Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar, Deanne M. Mazzochi, Jeff Keicher, Camille Y. Lilly, Joyce Mason, Kelly M. Burke, Dagmara Avelar, Janet Yang Rohr, Lawrence Walsh, Jr., Maura Hirschauer, Will Guzzardi, La Shawn K. Ford, Stephanie A. Kifowit, Dan Brady, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Jay Hoffman, Dave Vella, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Jim Durkin, Steven Reick, Thomas M. Bennett, William Davis, Sam Yingling, Emanuel Chris Welch, Bradley Stephens, Chris Bos, Daniel Swanson, Paul Jacobs, Michael J. Zalewski, Dave Severin and Randy E. Frese

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
New Act

Synopsis As Introduced
Creates the Rebuild Illinois Mental Health Workforce Act. Provides that the purpose of the Act is to preserve and expand access to Medicaid community mental health care in Illinois to prevent unnecessary hospitalizations and avoid the criminalization of mental health conditions. Establishes add-on payments for the following community mental health services to be paid beginning with State Fiscal Year 2023 and continuing for each State fiscal year thereafter: individual therapy services; community support-individual services; case management services; and assertive community treatment services. Requires monthly directed payments to community mental health providers of community support team services or assertive community treatment services. Provides that such directed payments shall be based on the number of Medicaid users, as defined, who receive services from the provider in the base year. Provides that the add-on payments established under the Act shall apply to Medicaid services provided by a contracted managed care organization or entity and services paid for directly by the Department of Healthcare and Family Services. Provides that no base Medicaid rate or Medicaid rate add-on payment or any other payment for the provision of Medicaid community mental health services in place on July 1, 2021 shall be diminished or changed to make the reimbursement changes required under the Act. Requires the Department to apply for federal approval to implement the Act. Provides that implementation of the add-on payments is conditioned on the receipt of federal financial participation for such payments. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  11/30/2021HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Greg Harris
  11/30/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Tom Demmer
  11/30/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  11/30/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  11/30/2021HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  12/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  12/1/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  12/9/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  12/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  12/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  12/13/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Margaret Croke
  12/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  12/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  12/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lakesia Collins
  12/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  12/14/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  12/15/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  12/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  12/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  12/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  12/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  12/16/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ann M. Williams
  12/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Natalie A. Manley
  12/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  12/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  12/20/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terra Costa Howard
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Ness
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Tim Butler
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Kelly
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frances Ann Hurley
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sue Scherer
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Denyse Wang Stoneback
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Elik
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  12/22/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick Windhorst
  12/28/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine K. Hammond
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jackie Haas
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Amy Grant
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Angelica Guerrero-Cuellar
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deanne M. Mazzochi
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jeff Keicher
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Camille Y. Lilly
  12/29/2021HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joyce Mason
  1/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Burke
  1/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dagmara Avelar
  1/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Janet Yang Rohr
  1/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence Walsh, Jr.
  1/3/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maura Hirschauer
  1/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Will Guzzardi
  1/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. La Shawn K. Ford
  1/4/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Stephanie A. Kifowit
  1/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  1/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  1/5/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  1/5/2022HouseFirst Reading
  1/5/2022HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Vella
  1/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  1/10/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Durkin
  1/10/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Steven Reick
  1/10/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Thomas M. Bennett
  1/11/2022HouseAssigned to Appropriations-Human Services Committee
  1/12/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  1/12/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Greg Harris
  1/12/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  1/12/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sam Yingling
  1/13/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  1/14/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bradley Stephens
  1/19/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rules Refers to Appropriations-Human Services Committee
  1/19/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chris Bos
  1/19/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Swanson
  1/27/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Jacobs
  1/31/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael J. Zalewski
  2/7/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dave Severin
  2/18/2022HouseCommittee Deadline Extended-Rule 9(b) February 25, 2022
  2/25/2022HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Rule 19(c) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  2/25/2022HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  3/24/2022HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Randy E. Frese
  1/10/2023HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top