Bill Status of HB5001  102nd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Will Guzzardi - Nicholas K. Smith - Elizabeth Hernandez - LaToya Greenwood, Michael Halpin, Katie Stuart, Deb Conroy, Jehan Gordon-Booth, Theresa Mah, Anne Stava-Murray, William Davis, Sonya M. Harper, Kathleen Willis, Emanuel Chris Welch, Ryan Spain, Gregory Harris and Justin Slaughter

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
110 ILCS 947/22 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Higher Education Student Assistance Act. Requires the Illinois Student Assistance Commission to annually include information about the Child Care Assistance Program and the federal dependent care allowance in the language that schools are required to provide to students eligible for Monetary Award Program grants. Specifies the information that must be included. Provides that an institution of higher learning that participates in the Monetary Award Program shall provide, at a minimum, the information to all students who are enrolled, or who are accepted for enrollment and are intending to enroll, and who have been identified by the Commission as Monetary Award Program-eligible at the institution. Provides that an institution of higher learning shall also provide the information to any student identified by the institution of higher learning as a student with dependents. Provides that an institution of higher learning may designate a public benefits liaison or single point person to assist students in taking the necessary steps to obtain public benefits if eligible. Requires the Commission to adopt rules to implement the provisions on or before October 1, 2020. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/13/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Will Guzzardi
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Nicholas K. Smith
  2/18/2020HouseFirst Reading
  2/18/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Halpin
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Katie Stuart
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deb Conroy
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jehan Gordon-Booth
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sonya M. Harper
  2/20/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  3/3/2020HouseAssigned to Human Services Committee
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ryan Spain
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gregory Harris
  3/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die