Bill Status of HB4406  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst - Keith P. Sommer - Charles Meier - Jonathan Carroll, Bob Morgan, Yehiel M. Kalish, LaToya Greenwood, Anna Moeller, Anne Stava-Murray, Theresa Mah, Michelle Mussman and Mary Edly-Allen

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
105 ILCS 5/2-3.161
105 ILCS 5/10-20.73 new
105 ILCS 5/34-18.66 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the School Code. Provides for dyslexia screening guidelines and rules. Requires the State Board of Education to employ at least 5 dyslexia specialists or dyslexia therapists with a minimum of 5 years of field experience in screening, identifying, and treating dyslexia and related disorders to provide technical assistance and training. Provides that, beginning with the 2020-2021 school year, each school district must screen students in grades kindergarten through second (and in higher grades under certain circumstances) for the risk factors of dyslexia using a universal screener approved by the State Board. Sets forth what the screening must include. Provides for additional screening for a student who is determined to be at risk, or at some risk, for dyslexia to determine if a student has the characteristics of dyslexia. Requires the use of a multi-tiered system of support framework if screening indicates that a student has some risk factors for dyslexia or has the characteristics of dyslexia. Sets forth provisions concerning exceptions to screening, dyslexia intervention services, and reporting. Effective July 1, 2020.

DateChamber Action
  1/29/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Lindsay Parkhurst
  1/29/2020HouseFirst Reading
  1/29/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  2/13/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Yehiel M. Kalish
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles Meier
  2/18/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Charles Meier
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/18/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Jonathan Carroll
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. LaToya Greenwood
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/25/2020HouseAssigned to Elementary & Secondary Education: School Curriculum & Policies Committee
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  3/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  3/13/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michelle Mussman
  5/22/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary Edly-Allen
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die