Bill Status of HB4292  101st General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Will Guzzardi - Rita Mayfield - Elizabeth Hernandez - Anna Moeller - Theresa Mah, Karina Villa, Robyn Gabel, Edgar Gonzalez, Jr., Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz, Jaime M. Andrade, Jr., Eva Dina Delgado, Maurice A. West, II, Emanuel Chris Welch, Marcus C. Evans, Jr., Lindsey LaPointe, Kathleen Willis, Barbara Hernandez, Aaron M. Ortiz, Delia C. Ramirez, Anne Stava-Murray, Kelly M. Cassidy, Mark L. Walker, Justin Slaughter, Bob Morgan, Lamont J. Robinson, Jr., Daniel Didech, Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer and Kambium Buckner

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
775 ILCS 5/2-101
775 ILCS 5/2-102from Ch. 68, par. 2-102

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Employment Article of the Illinois Human Rights Act. Provides that "citizenship status" includes, among other things, the status of being a person who is authorized by the federal government to work in the United States. Provides that it is a civil rights violation for an employer, for purposes of complying with federal employment eligibility requirements, to refuse to honor work authorization based upon the specific status or term of status that accompanies the authorization to work. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  1/28/2020HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Will Guzzardi
  1/28/2020HouseFirst Reading
  1/28/2020HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/29/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Rita Mayfield
  2/4/2020HouseAssigned to Executive Committee
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karina Villa
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robyn Gabel
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Edgar Gonzalez, Jr.
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/4/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Elizabeth Hernandez
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jennifer Gong-Gershowitz
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jaime M. Andrade, Jr.
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eva Dina Delgado
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/4/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Anna Moeller
  2/4/2020HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/4/2020HouseChief Co-Sponsor Changed to Rep. Theresa Mah
  2/5/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maurice A. West, II
  2/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Emanuel Chris Welch
  2/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marcus C. Evans, Jr.
  2/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lindsey LaPointe
  2/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen Willis
  2/6/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Hernandez
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Aaron M. Ortiz
  2/18/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Delia C. Ramirez
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Anne Stava-Murray
  2/19/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kelly M. Cassidy
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark L. Walker
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Justin Slaughter
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Morgan
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lamont J. Robinson, Jr.
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel Didech
  2/26/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jonathan "Yoni" Pizer
  3/9/2020HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kambium Buckner
  6/23/2020HouseRule 19(b) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/13/2021HouseSession Sine Die