Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4428
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4428  94th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Jack D. Franks - Lee A. Daniels - Robert W. Churchill - Kathleen A. Ryg - Julie Hamos, John A. Fritchey, Milton Patterson, Elizabeth Coulson, Barbara Flynn Currie and Harry Osterman

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  2/8/2006HouseTabled By Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
815 ILCS 365/2from Ch. 121 1/2, par. 1502
815 ILCS 365/2.5 new
815 ILCS 365/1 rep.

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Motor Fuel Sales Act. Repeals language providing that the Act does not apply to gasoline or service stations offering motor fuel for sale only at self-service islands. Requires a station that offers motor fuel for sale only at self-service islands to provide at one or more islands a calling device that allows a person with a decal, a device, or registration plates issued to a person with disabilities to request assistance in dispensing motor fuel. Sets forth requirements for the calling device and signage. Provides that the station may not impose an additional charge for the assistance in dispensing motor fuel. Sets forth circumstances under which: (i) a station is not required to provide a calling device or (ii) a station is required to provide a calling device only during certain hours. Provides that the requirements of the Act do not apply if the driver or a passenger is reasonably capable of dispensing motor fuel. Provides that a gasoline station owner who violates either of these provisions is guilty of a petty offense and subject to a fine of not less than $300 and not more than $600.

DateChamber Action
  1/6/2006HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Jack D. Franks
  1/10/2006HouseFirst Reading
  1/10/2006HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  1/18/2006HouseAssigned to Consumer Protection Committee
  1/24/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Lee A. Daniels
  1/24/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Churchill
  1/26/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John A. Fritchey
  1/26/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kathleen A. Ryg
  1/26/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Milton Patterson
  1/31/2006HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Julie Hamos
  1/31/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  1/31/2006HouseMotion Do Pass - Lost Consumer Protection Committee; 004-006-003
  1/31/2006HouseRemains in Consumer Protection Committee
  2/1/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  2/1/2006HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Harry Osterman
  2/8/2006HouseTabled By Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks

Back To Top