Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB5883
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB5883  93rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Shane Cultra - Randall M. Hultgren - Dan Brady, Rich Brauer, Richard P. Myers, Bob Biggins, Raymond Poe, John J. Millner, Donald L. Moffitt, James H. Meyer, Paul D. Froehlich, Robert W. Pritchard, Ron Stephens, Chapin Rose, Patricia R. Bellock, Mike Bost, Joe Dunn, Timothy L. Schmitz, Eileen Lyons and Bill Mitchell

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
30 ILCS 105/5.625 new
625 ILCS 5/3-663 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Vehicle Code and the State Finance Act. Creates the Choose Life Fund as a special fund in the State treasury. Provides for the issuance of special Choose Life license plates. Provides that the Secretary of State shall confer with Illinois Choose Life, Inc. of Illinois regarding the design, color, and format of the plates. Provides that, in addition to normal original issuance and renewal fees, a $25 fee shall be charged for the special plates. Provides that $10 of the additional initial fee and $23 of the additional renewal fee shall be deposited into the Choose Life Fund, and $15 of the additional original fee and $2 of the additional renewal fee shall be deposited into the Secretary of State Special License Plate Fund. Provides that, subject to appropriation by the General Assembly and approval by the Secretary of State, all moneys in the Choose Life Fund shall be distributed on a pro-rated basis at the beginning of each fiscal year to all non-governmental, not-for-profit agencies whose services include counseling and meeting the physical needs of pregnant women who are committed to placing their children for adoption. Establishes additional requirements for use of the moneys in the Fund. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/6/2004HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Randall M. Hultgren
  2/6/2004HouseFirst Reading
  2/6/2004HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard P. Myers
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bob Biggins
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John J. Millner
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. James H. Meyer
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul D. Froehlich
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ron Stephens
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Chapin Rose
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Dunn
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Timothy L. Schmitz
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eileen Lyons
  2/25/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  2/26/2004HouseChief Sponsor Changed to Rep. Shane Cultra
  3/2/2004HouseAssigned to State Government Administration Committee
  3/2/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Randall M. Hultgren
  3/2/2004HouseMotion to Suspend Rule 25 - Prevailed by Voice Vote
  3/2/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  3/4/2004HouseRule 19(a) / Re-referred to Rules Committee
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top