Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB4171
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB4171  93rd General Assembly

Short Description:  PROC CD-SPAM FREE E-MAIL

House Sponsors
Rep. Ruth Munson - Jack D. Franks - JoAnn D. Osmond - Eileen Lyons - Suzanne Bassi, Mark H. Beaubien, Jr., Patricia Reid Lindner, Terry R. Parke, Timothy L. Schmitz, Carole Pankau, Shane Cultra, Roger L. Eddy, Renee Kosel, Joe Dunn, Sandra M. Pihos, Carolyn H. Krause, Robert W. Pritchard, Rosemary Mulligan, Dan Brady, Rosemary Kurtz, Patricia R. Bellock and Elizabeth Coulson

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Pamela J. Althoff - Don Harmon)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
30 ILCS 500/25-65 new

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Procurement Code. Requires that electronic mail service provided under State contracts must be provided reasonably free of unsolicited electronic mail advertisements (sometimes known as "spam").

House Committee Amendment No. 1
Deletes everything and reinserts the provisions of the introduced bill with the following change: requires that the service provider take measures reasonably designed to provide service free of spam (now, requires that the service be provided reasonably free of spam).

DateChamber Action
  1/22/2004HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Ruth Munson
  1/22/2004HouseFirst Reading
  1/22/2004HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/18/2004HouseAssigned to State Government Administration Committee
  2/25/2004HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by State Government Administration Committee
  2/25/2004HouseHouse Committee Amendment No. 1 Adopted in State Government Administration Committee; by Voice Vote
  2/25/2004HouseDo Pass as Amended / Short Debate State Government Administration Committee; 010-000-000
  2/25/2004HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. JoAnn D. Osmond
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Eileen Lyons
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Suzanne Bassi
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mark H. Beaubien, Jr.
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia Reid Lindner
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Terry R. Parke
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Timothy L. Schmitz
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carole Pankau
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Shane Cultra
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Roger L. Eddy
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Renee Kosel
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Dunn
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sandra M. Pihos
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Carolyn H. Krause
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Mulligan
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Brady
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Kurtz
  2/26/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia R. Bellock
  3/2/2004HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/2/2004HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/23/2004HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elizabeth Coulson
  3/23/2004HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 117-000-000
  3/24/2004SenateArrive in Senate
  3/24/2004SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading March 25, 2004
  3/25/2004SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  3/25/2004SenateFirst Reading
  3/25/2004SenateReferred to Rules
  4/1/2004SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Don Harmon
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top