Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB2491
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB2491  93rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Robert Rita - Monique D. Davis - Mary E. Flowers - Annazette Collins - Robert S. Molaro, Marlow H. Colvin, Kevin A. McCarthy, Patricia Bailey, Calvin L. Giles, Constance A. Howard, Lou Lang, Linda Chapa LaVia, James D. Brosnahan, Kenneth Dunkin, Arthur L. Turner, Ralph C. Capparelli, William Davis, Kevin Joyce, Daniel J. Burke, Cynthia Soto, William Delgado, Maria Antonia Berrios, Jack D. Franks, George Scully, Jr., Joseph M. Lyons, Richard T. Bradley, John A. Fritchey, David E. Miller, Robin Kelly and Jack McGuire

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. James T. Meeks)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
105 ILCS 5/2-3.25dfrom Ch. 122, par. 2-3.25d

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the School Code. Requires the State Board of Education to implement and administer a student achievement improvement grant program to provide 2-year grants to school districts on the academic watch list and other school districts that have the lowest achieving students. Requires a school district to establish an accountability program in order to receive a grant. Requires a grant to be automatically renewed when achievement goals are met. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/20/2003HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Robert Rita
  2/20/2003HouseFirst Reading
  2/20/2003HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/26/2003HouseAssigned to Elementary and Secondary Education Committee
  3/5/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Monique D. Davis
  3/5/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary E. Flowers
  3/5/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Annazette Collins
  3/12/2003HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Elementary and Secondary Education Committee; 011-002-001
  3/12/2003HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  3/12/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert S. Molaro
  3/12/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin A. McCarthy
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Patricia Bailey
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Calvin L. Giles
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Constance A. Howard
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. James D. Brosnahan
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kenneth Dunkin
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Arthur L. Turner
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ralph C. Capparelli
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Joyce
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel J. Burke
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Delgado
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack D. Franks
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. George Scully, Jr.
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Joseph M. Lyons
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard T. Bradley
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John A. Fritchey
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David E. Miller
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robin Kelly
  3/18/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack McGuire
  3/19/2003HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  3/19/2003HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/21/2003HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 112-002-002
  3/24/2003SenateArrive in Senate
  3/24/2003SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading March 25, 2003
  4/2/2003SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. James T. Meeks
  4/8/2003SenateFirst Reading
  4/8/2003SenateReferred to Rules
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top