Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB1166
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB1166  93rd General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Marlow H. Colvin - Mike Boland - Calvin L. Giles - George Scully, Jr. - Kenneth Dunkin, Karen A. Yarbrough, Lou Lang, Deborah L. Graham, Robert Rita, William Delgado, Cynthia Soto, Elaine Nekritz, Julie Hamos, Eddie Washington, Constance A. Howard, Annazette Collins, Sara Feigenholtz, Paul D. Froehlich, Rosemary Kurtz, Gary Hannig, Charles G. Morrow, III, Jack McGuire, Kevin A. McCarthy, James D. Brosnahan, Joseph M. Lyons, Susana Mendoza, Barbara Flynn Currie, Robin Kelly, David E. Miller, William Davis, Charles E. Jefferson, Linda Chapa LaVia, Dan Reitz, Brandon W. Phelps, Kevin Joyce, John Philip Novak, Mary K. O'Brien and Maria Antonia Berrios

Senate Sponsors
(Sen. Donne E. Trotter - Rickey R. Hendon)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/4-6.2from Ch. 46, par. 4-6.2
10 ILCS 5/5-16.2from Ch. 46, par. 5-16.2

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Requires school districts to coordinate the availability throughout the district of principals serving as deputy registrars to encourage the voter registration of students during the first 10 school days of each May. Effective July 1, 2003.

House Floor Amendment No. 1
Adds reference to:
10 ILCS 5/6-50.2

Deletes everything. Amends the Election Code. Requires that at a minimum, principals of secondary and vocational schools request appointment as deputy registrars and conduct voter registration in their school district the first 10 school days of May to register students who will be 18 or older on the next election day. Permits appointment of a volunteer substitute if the same registration is conducted. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/4/2003HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  2/4/2003HouseFirst Reading
  2/4/2003HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  2/5/2003HouseAssigned to Elections and Campaign Reform Committee
  2/19/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Boland
  2/20/2003HouseDo Pass / Short Debate Elections and Campaign Reform Committee; 008-001-000
  2/20/2003HousePlaced on Calendar 2nd Reading - Short Debate
  2/21/2003HouseSecond Reading - Short Debate
  2/21/2003HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  2/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Karen A. Yarbrough
  2/28/2003HouseRecalled to Second Reading - Short Debate
  2/28/2003HouseHeld on Calendar Order of Second Reading - Short Debate
  2/28/2003HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Filed with Clerk by Rep. Marlow H. Colvin
  2/28/2003HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Referred to Rules Committee
  3/5/2003HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Recommends Be Adopted Rules Committee; 005-000-000
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Calvin L. Giles
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. George Scully, Jr.
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Kenneth Dunkin
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lou Lang
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Deborah L. Graham
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert Rita
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Delgado
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Cynthia Soto
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Elaine Nekritz
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Julie Hamos
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eddie Washington
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Constance A. Howard
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Annazette Collins
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Sara Feigenholtz
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul D. Froehlich
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Rosemary Kurtz
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Gary Hannig
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles G. Morrow, III
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jack McGuire
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin A. McCarthy
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. James D. Brosnahan
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Eileen Lyons
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Susana Mendoza
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Barbara Flynn Currie
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Robin Kelly
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. David E. Miller
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. William Davis
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Jefferson
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Linda Chapa LaVia
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dan Reitz
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Kevin Joyce
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John Philip Novak
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mary K. O'Brien
  3/21/2003HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Maria Antonia Berrios
  3/26/2003HouseHouse Floor Amendment No. 1 Adopted by Voice Vote
  3/26/2003HousePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading - Short Debate
  3/27/2003HouseThird Reading - Short Debate - Passed 069-042-004
  4/2/2003SenateArrive in Senate
  4/2/2003SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading April 3, 2003
  4/3/2003SenateChief Senate Sponsor Sen. Donne E. Trotter
  4/4/2003SenateAdded as Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Rickey R. Hendon
  4/8/2003SenateFirst Reading
  4/8/2003SenateReferred to Rules
  4/16/2003SenateAssigned to Local Government
  4/30/2003SenateHeld in Local Government
  5/2/2003SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Rules
  1/11/2005HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top