Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB3688
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB3688  9th General Assembly


Senate Sponsors
Sen. Michael W. Frerichs - Pamela J. Althoff - Toi W. Hutchinson - Sue Rezin - David Koehler, Kyle McCarter, Dave Syverson, Shane Cultra, Linda Holmes, Pat McGuire, Mike Jacobs, Mattie Hunter and Gary Forby

House Sponsors
(Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr. - Adam Brown - John D. Cavaletto - Richard Morthland - Michael Unes, Bill Mitchell, Pam Roth, Joe Sosnowski, Paul Evans, Jil Tracy, Robert W. Pritchard, Jim Watson, Chad Hays, Norine Hammond, Dwight Kay, Brad E. Halbrook, Donald L. Moffitt, Jason Barickman, Wayne Rosenthal, Jim Sacia and Rich Brauer)

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
20 ILCS 655/4from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 604
20 ILCS 655/5.2from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 607
20 ILCS 655/5.3from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 608
20 ILCS 655/6from Ch. 67 1/2, par. 610
20 ILCS 655/8.1 new
20 ILCS 715/5
35 ILCS 5/201from Ch. 120, par. 2-201
35 ILCS 5/203from Ch. 120, par. 2-203

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Illinois Enterprise Zone Act. Provides that an area is qualified to become an enterprise zone if it comprises not more than 18 square miles (now, 12 square miles). Provides that an enterprise zone shall be in effect for 55 years (now, 30 years). Authorizes the Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity to certify an additional 10 enterprise zones between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2022. Requires each Zone Administrator to post a copy of the enterprise zone boundaries on its website and to collect and aggregate certain information. Amends the Corporate Accountability for Tax Expenditures Act. Changes the definitions of "full-time, permanent job" and "retained employee". Amends the Illinois Income Tax Act. Eliminates the job tax credit for a taxpayer conducting business operations in an enterprise zone. Eliminates the deduction for dividends that were paid by a corporation which conducts business operations in an enterprise zone. Eliminates the deduction for interest income from a loan or loans secured by property which is eligible for the Enterprise Zone Investment Credit. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  2/10/2012SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Michael W. Frerichs
  2/10/2012SenateChief Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  2/10/2012SenateChief Co-Sponsor Sen. Toi W. Hutchinson
  2/10/2012SenateChief Co-Sponsor Sen. Sue Rezin
  2/10/2012SenateChief Co-Sponsor Sen. David Koehler
  2/10/2012SenateFirst Reading
  2/10/2012SenateReferred to Assignments
  2/15/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kyle McCarter
  2/21/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  2/27/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Shane Cultra
  2/28/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Linda Holmes
  3/8/2012SenateAssigned to Local Government
  3/9/2012SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As March 30, 2012
  3/21/2012SenateRe-referred to Assignments
  3/21/2012SenateRe-assigned to Enterprise Zone Extensions
  3/21/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pat McGuire
  3/26/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mike Jacobs
  3/28/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Mattie Hunter
  3/30/2012SenateRule 2-10 Committee/3rd Reading Deadline Established As April 26, 2012
  4/17/2012SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Gary Forby
  4/19/2012SenateDo Pass Enterprise Zone Extensions; 006-000-000
  4/19/2012SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 2nd Reading April 24, 2012
  4/25/2012SenateSecond Reading
  4/25/2012SenatePlaced on Calendar Order of 3rd Reading April 26, 2012
  4/26/2012SenateThird Reading - Passed; 055-000-000
  4/26/2012HouseArrived in House
  4/26/2012HouseChief House Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  4/26/2012HousePlaced on Calendar Order of First Reading
  4/26/2012HouseFirst Reading
  4/26/2012HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Brown
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. John D. Cavaletto
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Richard Morthland
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael Unes
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Bill Mitchell
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Pam Roth
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Joe Sosnowski
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Paul Evans
  4/27/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jil Tracy
  4/30/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Robert W. Pritchard
  4/30/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Watson
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Chad Hays
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Norine Hammond
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Dwight Kay
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Brad E. Halbrook
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jason Barickman
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne Rosenthal
  5/1/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Jim Sacia
  5/2/2012HouseAdded Alternate Co-Sponsor Rep. Rich Brauer
  5/9/2012HouseMotion Filed to Discharge Rules Committee Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  5/9/2012HouseChair Rules Motion Out of Order
  5/9/2012HouseAppeal Ruling of Chair Rep. Dennis M. Reboletti
  5/9/2012HouseChair Rules Motion Out of Order
  5/9/2012HouseMotion Discharge Committee Lost
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top