Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for SB2496
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of SB2496  9th General Assembly

Short Description:  ELECTIONS-VOTER ID

Senate Sponsors
Sen. Kyle McCarter - Wm. Sam McCann - Matt Murphy, Dale A. Righter, Darin M. LaHood, Tim Bivins, Dave Syverson, Kirk W. Dillard, Pamela J. Althoff, Chris Lauzen, Shane Cultra, Larry K. Bomke, Christine J. Johnson, John O. Jones, Carole Pankau and Ron Sandack

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
10 ILCS 5/17-9from Ch. 46, par. 17-9
10 ILCS 5/18-5from Ch. 46, par. 18-5

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Election Code. Requires that a person seeking to vote on election day present a government-issued photo identification card to the election judge (now, required only when voting early). Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  10/12/2011SenateFiled with Secretary by Sen. Kyle McCarter
  10/12/2011SenateFirst Reading
  10/12/2011SenateReferred to Assignments
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dale A. Righter
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Wm. Sam McCann
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Chief Co-Sponsor Sen. Matt Murphy
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Darin M. LaHood
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Tim Bivins
  10/12/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Dave Syverson
  10/13/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Kirk W. Dillard
  10/14/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Pamela J. Althoff
  10/19/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Chris Lauzen
  10/20/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Shane Cultra
  10/21/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Larry K. Bomke
  10/21/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Christine J. Johnson
  10/21/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. John O. Jones
  10/24/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Carole Pankau
  10/25/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. William R. Haine
  10/26/2011SenateAdded as Co-Sponsor Sen. Ron Sandack
  10/26/2011SenateSponsor Removed Sen. William R. Haine
  1/31/2012SenateAssigned to Executive
  2/9/2012SenateTo Executive Subcommittee on Election Law
  3/9/2012SenateRule 2-10 Committee Deadline Established As March 30, 2012
  3/22/2012SenateHeld in Executive; Subcommittee on Election Law
  3/30/2012SenateRule 3-9(a) / Re-referred to Assignments
  1/8/2013SenateSession Sine Die

Back To Top