Illinois General Assembly - Bill Status for HB6279
Illinois General Assembly

Previous General Assemblies

 Bill Status of HB6279  9th General Assembly


House Sponsors
Rep. Brandon W. Phelps - Jerry F. Costello, II - Mike Smiddy - Katherine Cloonen - Patrick J. Verschoore, Adam Brown, Daniel V. Beiser, John E. Bradley, Frank J. Mautino, Donald L. Moffitt, Charles E. Meier, Raymond Poe, Mike Bost, Michael P. McAuliffe, Dwight Kay, Wayne Rosenthal, Lawrence M. Walsh, Jr., Keith P. Sommer, C.D. Davidsmeyer, John M. Cabello, Ed Sullivan, Jr. and Jay Hoffman

Last Action
DateChamber Action
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Statutes Amended In Order of Appearance
430 ILCS 65/13.1from Ch. 38, par. 83-13.1

Synopsis As Introduced
Amends the Firearm Owners Identification Card Act. Provides that a unit of local government, including a home rule unit, may not assess any fee or tax on any firearm or firearm ammunition, other than a retailers' occupation tax imposed under the Home Rule County Retailers' Occupation Tax Law, the Home Rule Municipal Retailers' Occupation Tax Act, or the Non-Home Rule Municipal Retailers' Occupation Tax Act. Provides that the assessment of fees or taxes on firearms or firearm ammunition, except as otherwise provided in this provision are exclusive powers and functions of the State. Provides that this provision is a denial and limitation of home rule powers and functions under subsection (h) of Section 6 of Article VII of the Illinois Constitution. Effective immediately.

DateChamber Action
  5/30/2014HouseFiled with the Clerk by Rep. Brandon W. Phelps
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Jerry F. Costello, II
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Smiddy
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Katherine Cloonen
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Chief Co-Sponsor Rep. Patrick J. Verschoore
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Daniel V. Beiser
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John E. Bradley
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Frank J. Mautino
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Donald L. Moffitt
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Charles E. Meier
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Raymond Poe
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Mike Bost
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Michael P. McAuliffe
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Dwight Kay
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Wayne Rosenthal
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Lawrence M. Walsh, Jr.
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Keith P. Sommer
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Adam Brown
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. C.D. Davidsmeyer
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. John M. Cabello
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Ed Sullivan, Jr.
  5/30/2014HouseAdded Co-Sponsor Rep. Jay Hoffman
  11/6/2014HouseFirst Reading
  11/6/2014HouseReferred to Rules Committee
  12/3/2014HouseSession Sine Die

Back To Top